I feel the love

Can you feel the love tonight? I sure do. Thanks for all the shout-outs I got in response to my blogs. BTW, when I refer to people as “Cuz”, I’m not trying to be hip – they really are my cousins. My kids laugh at my attempts at ebonics and my co-workers laugh at my attempts at the southern drawl, so I’ll just stick with my Heinz 57 (mish-mash) melange of an accent, which leaves people guessing much of the time.

This blogging thing could really become a favorite past-time of mine. I think it’s the interaction, or the thought that somebody out there is reading, that motivates one to keep a blog, right? Tell me, all you bloggers out there, what is it that keeps you writing? And all you blog readers, what keeps you reading? It’s not a rhetorical question – I really want to know. Do share! I’ve tried many times to keep a journal and have not been successful at being consistent with it. Maybe it’s the one-sided nature of it, or the thought that, like I used to do with my older sister’s diary (Sorry, Tall T), someone will sneak a peek and discover all my secrets and pent up angst…

Anyway, it’s good to be here!

 

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. angiebledsoe
    May 22, 2008 @ 07:56:18

    You should just walk around speaking French! ….
    I’m so glad you’re blogging – it does have it’s ups and downs – for the writer, that has a lot to do with whether or not people are reading. But, the whole thing is quite freeing…and addictive…n’es pas? Have a beautiful one. Peace out.

    Reply

  2. Teresa
    May 22, 2008 @ 12:55:10

    I like reading/responding to blogs because for one thing, they keep me in touch with the outside world. Since I had to leave my job a few years ago due to illness, it seems like I have lost touch with the adult world. Did I mention what I have at home is 2 teenagers and a traveling (hardworking!) husband? When I DO have something to say, no one’s listening anyway! (a prophet is never appreciated on their home turf). Also, blogging gives me a ‘peek’ inside someone else’s thoughts, that’s always fun! Like you, I’ve tried journaling, and I fail everytime. I’m always afraid someone will find and read it after I’m dead and they’ll wonder why they never knew I was crazy when I was alive! I also LOVE pink-just ask my husband and kids-I get teased terribly, I’m interested to see how you ‘redefine’ it. We women need to stick together! For sure I’ll be checking your blog daily. Thanks-TK

    Reply

  3. Nike A
    May 22, 2008 @ 14:23:00

    Hey! I am so glad to be here!
    Okay – what keeps me reading? It is the total and absolute relevance to things of today – issues that are going on, stuff that we are thinking about but not saying, the spiritual information that doesn’t sound religious and …. just the sheer anticipation of something new each day.
    Love you girl and so glad we can ‘blog’ together.
    Hugs and blessings!

    Reply

  4. Thea
    May 22, 2008 @ 16:46:55

    I love blogging, too – I’m not sure if it’s because I like the idea that others get a glimpse of a more “Real” version of me instead of their ideal of who I am or just because of the connect with others. ..maybe both. It’s like 3D journaling on a more intimate level than an email where I can share my thoughts be they funny or serious and people can choose to respond or not. Three cheers for blogging 😉 consider the babies kissed – thanks!!

    Reply

  5. ash
    May 22, 2008 @ 17:21:51

    Cuz?! I use that word too! And yes, for my “cuz”ins that I am esp. fond of…..wink.

    What keeps me writing? My brain, that won’t sleep at night unless I get the words out, My heart that beats when I’ve accomplished a piece with purpose, My fingers that keep typing as I work and play in this technological world of computers and My passion for people and their stories and their ideas about the world.

    What keeps me reading? The need, the want and the love for being educated.

    Reply

  6. Hope
    May 22, 2008 @ 19:01:09

    Sola, welcome to the blogging world. I just love reading your husband’s blog and as far as he’s concerned, I’ll love reading yours. My blog is an attempt to unveil Jesus to seekers and unveil myself as I press on toward the goal. I do journal a tad, those are the things that are soooo personal I wouldn’t blog about until I had sorted them out first. I look forward to coming back! I love accents no matter what kind they are. I’m Canadian, eh! 🙂

    Reply

  7. joebuster
    May 22, 2008 @ 19:25:06

    Well, it looks like you’re off to a good start by just introducing yourself a little at a time. That in itself will attract fellow bloggers that can identify with your open and fun way of expressing yourself – (in any accent you want- oh and anyone who laughs at your mish mash accent is just jealous cause it sounds so lovely and unique! So there!) So you go girl!

    On another note, could you remind your other half that we noted his “prediction” on the next American Idol, and he was WRONG AGAIN! 🙂 And DO let him know that his favorite lobster connoisseur actually picked the top three some time ago, while I simply prayed that America wouldn’t foolishly choose a pretty face over real talent again. (still haven’t figured out how that kid that did the wierd sound effects was runner up last year, while Melinda Brown got “voted off the island” What were those voters thinking?????)

    Anyway, my dear, congrats on the kick off or another new adventure!

    Reply

  8. solathompson
    May 22, 2008 @ 23:18:08

    ~Angie, oui, oui, you’re so right about the addictive part.
    ~Teresa, hey, I’ll hang with you, fellow pink warrior! Let’s re-define it together!!
    ~Nike, my fellow partner-in-crime from those BC (Before Christ) college days. Blogging together sounds safe, compared to some of the trouble we got into together, right? Thank God for God! Old things have truly passed away!
    ~Thea, hip, hip, hooray. I think the babies are due for another kiss…
    ~Ash, love that brain of yours! I’m so proud of the woman you grew up into!!
    ~Hope, I read your comments on Joseph’s blog too. I guess I’m riding on his coattails, eh? (I can do canadian too- wink!)
    ~Joebuster, I think I know who you are, but it doesn’t matter, because you said something nice about me! Thanks, and for joining in the conversation too. P.S. It’s Melinda Dolittle, but I guess Brown is close enough (wink, wink!)

    Thank you all for your lovely comments. Y’all come back now, ya hear?

    Reply

  9. Wanda
    Jul 12, 2008 @ 16:06:34

    Awesome content, my Ebonic-wannabe Sista! I love reading your blog. It’s almost like having a passport into your brain – ooh, that’s scary! Thanks for sharing your musings with us. They’re very insightful. Let Shepherd Joe know that I will be visiting his blogging site soon, just so I can stir up a bit of political controversy and convert him once and for all (smile).

    Okay for now – almost Birthday Girl! Holla!

    WGA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

