A few of my favorite things…

The Sound of Music (Single Disc Full Screen Edition)

I was just thinking to myself today how blessed I am. It’s so easy to forget the “little things”, isn’t it? So I thought I’d start to focus on one thing at a time, which reminded me of Maria’s song in The Sound of Music, one of my all-time favorite movies. Living in Florida, there’s no point liking “snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes”. Snowflakes are over-rated anyway, so scrap that! I’m making my own list:

MI FAMILIA! I know, not very original, but I love my fam. 

My husband, Joseph: after being married to him for nearly 20 years (yes, you heard me – I married him when I was 10 – not!), I still have not met anyone quite like him. Strong, yet sensitive, knowledgeable yet teachable, with just enough “pink” in him to make him relatable without compromising his masculinity. God’s man…and mine!

My son, Demi: big strapping mountain of muscle, being courted by universities to play football. My gentle giant with the disarming smile. How did such a big person come from me?

My daughter, Bimi: tall, ebony drama queen. One day she’ll discover how truly beautiful she is and that some girls would give anything to be 5’11” like she is right now. Most loving and generous kid I know.

My baby, Temi: little gazelle, wise beyond her years. She’s transitioning into the teen season and I cringe in anticipation of all the drama. For now, I’ll hug her just a little longer… especially while she’s still a couple of inches shorter than me!

My Dad, Olu: the most laid-back, low-maintenance, “no worries” person I know. He’s hanging out with us for a while (he came back with me from Nigeria, from a recent trip to bury my mother). He’s amazingly strong, amazingly in love with the Lord.

My mother, Abigail: truly a pink warrior whose fight is won. Her legacy of love and godliness will live on in me and my children.

I am truly blessed!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Thea
    May 23, 2008 @ 01:48:10

    I love reading your blog and all your comments – it makes me wish I would have been a little more proactive gleaning wisdom from you when you were nearer…thankfully blogging will make that semi possible now 🙂

    Reading your comments about your family and your girls growing up makes my heart heavy and excited all at the same time – I wish my babies would stay babies so I can continue to love and protect them, insuring every bite they eat is nutritious or at least tasty 😉 and that their little steps are guarded and they are hugged and loved all the time…at the same time I have such anticipation for the women they will become and I’m excited for the coming years. It’s bittersweet, isn’t it? I’m guessing that won’t ever change.
    You DO have a wonderful family. I love the great contrast between you and Joseph – you are so perfectly fit together. BIG hugs to you & your family.

    Reply

  2. Joseph
    May 23, 2008 @ 07:14:29

    Wow! I’m all verklamped. I think I’m going to wear a pink shirt today. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Teresa
    May 23, 2008 @ 13:03:58

    Yes, family is truly one of God’s greatest blessings. My daughter Kelsie, graduated from high school just last weekend. Next year she is off to Forerunner School of Ministry in Kansas City! The fact that she will not be here next year is KILLING me, but I do know she was never really mine to begin with, just on loan from God! Her heart for Jesus is HUGE and I know she will do great things for Him,whether the world recognizes that or not! She too, is truly a pink warrior, and her legacy of love a godliness is just beginning. I am ASTOUNDED at times, by how much Jesus I see in her already! Condolences to you Sola, on the loss of your mother, you must miss her dearly. I too am truly blessed! Thank-you for letting me share just one of MY favorite things with you today-my daughter!-TK

    Reply

  4. Hope
    May 23, 2008 @ 16:46:05

    Sola, I had my honeymoon in Florida in 1979 … during the energy crisis. It was so cold that it snowed and they lit torches in the orange groves. It was my first trip out of Canada. I didn’t think there was winter all the way down there so I only packed shorts. It was easy to tell who all the Canadians were; we were the only ones not wearing fleece jackets and winter coats!

    Nice to meet your family.

    Reply

  5. Joey Antrim
    May 23, 2008 @ 17:59:22

    Love it Sola! Nicely done!

    Reply

  6. solathompson
    May 23, 2008 @ 20:08:37

    – Don’t worry, Thea, I don’t think I was “wise” back then, so I doubt you were missing anything! For a healthy dose of wisdom, might I recommend…planting a church?!

    – Sweetie, of course you can wear a pink shirt today – if you can decide which one! 😉

    – Teresa, your Kelsie sounds like an absolute gem. How awesome to see them walking out their own faith. Yes, I miss my mother dearly, sometimes painfully, but I’ll see her again. That’s the assurance we have in Christ – yay!

    – Hope, so, like me, you didn’t get full disclosure! Nobody ever told ME about the “lovebugs” before I came here. They are these nasty bugs that fly about conjoined for a few weeks twice a year. They don’t bite, but are annoying, not to mention disgusting, pesky and an utter nuisance… definitely NOT one of my favorite things!

    – Thanks, Joey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

