Favorite things II

EARLY MORNING WALKS WITH BIMI: Definitely another favorite thing of mine. First of all, so you know, it’s not about the actual walk, even though there are physical benefits to it. Actually I loathe (too strong) dislike walking, plus I’m not a morning person. However, on weekday mornings, Bimi (my 14 year old) and I walk Temi (my 11 year old) to the school bus stop and once she’s on the bus at 6:50 am, we walk for 30-45 minutes, before she has to get ready for school and I, for work. We have a beautiful, loooong, woody trail that runs behind our house and we only walk a small portion of it, but every morning as we converse, we look out for what new creatures we’ll see (of the two- and four-legged variety!) We have seen deer, bears, armadillos, ant eaters and other wild life I don’t even recognize. A few days ago, Bimi almost stepped on a deadly but gorgeous coral snake!

Like I said, it’s not about the actual walk. It’s a one-on-one connecting time where she has my attention and I have hers. She invites me into her world of teenage drama (ai, ai, ai!) and I get to drop nuggets that may otherwise have gone in one ear and out the other. I can hear you now, saying “awww, how sweet!”, so I won’t tell you about the times I had to send her back home because she was working my nerve, or the times… but I digress.

As much as I relish those moments, it gives me an inkling of just how much Father God relishes our one-on-one time with Him. We invite Him into our world of drama and because He finally has our attention, He is able to drop nuggets into us that might otherwise have gone in one ear and out another. Fortunately, unlike someone we know, He won’t send you home when you work His nerve.

Early morning walks with Bimi. Definitely one of my favorite things.

View image detail

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alison
    May 24, 2008 @ 07:48:40

    Dear Sola, I came to your blog by the indication of your husband. It was a pleasant discovery, let me tell you. One of my favorite things is taking my little ones to the playground and watch them play… we talk while we walk there (about 5 blocks from home) and it is a great time to get close(r). Keep writing!

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    May 24, 2008 @ 21:41:59

    Welcome, Alison. Good to have you here, and thanks for sharing one of your favorite things.

    Reply

  3. Bimi
    May 24, 2008 @ 21:46:22

    Hey Mummy!!! I love talking to you too!!! You are so much fun!!!

    Reply

  4. Teresa
    May 25, 2008 @ 15:39:33

    Thanks for sharing about Bimi and your walks with her! Our children ARE our most favorite “things” aren’t they? Another of MY favorite things is my 17y/o son Nick. I never had brothers growing up, so to have a son to raise was a true joy for me. They are so different than little girls! Always full of surprises (and pockets FULL of surprises too!), so energetic, so different in how they view things, and work problems out! Right now he plays bass guitar in a Heavy Metal Christian band. Sounds like an oxymoron to me! Their lyrics truly are Christ centered (not that I can understand them, or even HEAR them over the noise) I call them the ‘Joyful Noisemakers’!-did I mention they practice in our basement? They have a heart for Jesus, and hearts for the kids lost in the satanic heavy metal scene. Their goal is to shed the Gospel Light to these kids who are out of the mainstream and into the dark side of life. A place most of us are afraid to go. Please pray for them, and their safety! Thanks again for letting me share another one of my favorite things! Blessings-TK

    Reply

  5. solathompson
    May 25, 2008 @ 21:50:35

    – Right back atcha, Beemers 😉
    – Joyful Noisemakers – I love it, Teresa! I pray God’s favor and protection over them, in Jesus’ name.

    Reply

  6. ash
    May 25, 2008 @ 22:35:41

    “Mummy”- UBER cute. I can hear the accent. My friend Isha will often, and playfully, give me “the glare” and tell me to “shut up” when I poke at her pronunciation and African/English accent. Ah- yes, we crazy Americans are the ones with accents (wink)- and that too is one of my favorite things, the fact that there are so many languages and ways of communicating to one another and culturing one another- accents are beautiful to me, I love listening my friend talk….that is a joyful noise…wink. xo

    Reply

  7. Hope
    May 26, 2008 @ 12:54:23

    I love to walk. Last summer I walked every day and used this time to appreciate nature and speak with God. This year I haven’t walked so much yet (rain), but I’m sure looking forward to those moments. Sure wish my 16 year old son would walk with me the way he used to … too much trouble now. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Nike A
    May 27, 2008 @ 20:45:01

    Okay – so I dont like to run or walk. I only run when someone is chasing me and walk to the mailbox – really.
    Thanks for sharing! It made me think of one of my favorite things. I drive my teenagers to school twice a week and I ban all forms of electronic transmission of sounds (aka ipods) during this time. We talk, argue and laugh a lot. I really treasure these times and look forward to them.
    Hugs and Blessings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

