Favorite things III

Another favorite thing of mine: long holiday weekends. I’ll take one of those anyday, especially when the holiday is on Monday, which makes the week so much shorter. By the time you hit the mid-week blues, the week is over – sweet!

Yesterday (Memorial day), we went to the beach. Something we never do, usually. I remember the first time I suggested it to my husband – he looked at me completely bewildered, as if I was speaking another language (I think his exact words were “you must have me confused with someone else”. Either that or “huh?!”). He came around very quickly, though, and off we went to Daytona Beach Shores, with a picnic lunch and a big white 10’X10′ tent, which I nicknamed “The Oppressor” because of the way it made all the colorful little umbrellas around it look so puny and pathetic. Hey, there were 6 of us, and have you seen my family? I’m the runt, right next to my 11 year old, and she’s catching up fast!

My favorite part was people-watching. I could do that for hours, and I did! Here are a couple of pictures I took (yes, I figured out how to do that!). Enjoy…

Joseph and the girls building a fortress The Joseph Thompson family and my Dad

\

“The Oppressor”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jthelmsdeep
    May 27, 2008 @ 21:51:51

    Boy, I’m all set for another day of beaching and babe… I mean babes watching! 🙂
    (Before you all begin to wonder, Babes is my pet name for my wife)

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    May 27, 2008 @ 21:59:07

    Alright now, PASTOR Joseph! Remind me, what was that scripture that talks about what to do if your eye causes you to sin? ‘Cause I can help with that!

    Reply

  3. ash
    May 27, 2008 @ 23:50:36

    ya just HAD to put up pictures that would make me SO jealous and drool at the mouth…hold on…had to wipe the corners!

    i’m overly anxious to see my friend in s. carolina in a couple weeks (and use the beach too) and of course my birthday trip to florida in july….

    the beach? my ABSOLUTE favorite place in the whole world!

    Reply

  4. Hope Clark
    May 28, 2008 @ 18:05:19

    I’m so glad you guys are warming to the world of beach-going!! :):)

    Reply

  5. solathompson
    May 28, 2008 @ 19:54:13

    – Ash, don’t hate, appreciate! 🙂
    – Hopeful, I don’t think we can ever rival you guys, but it’s all good 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

