From Zero to Hero in 10 seconds

I had a funny thing happen to me last Saturday. We have a community outreach event called Overflow: Sanford coming up on June 14th. Last Saturday, we, the members of the Overflow committee, all met at the location of our event (the Boys & Girls Club of W. Sanford) to prayer-walk the premises. After this, we dispersed in different directions to personally invite members of the community and create a word-of-mouth awareness of the event. Armed with posters for local businesses and postcards for individuals, we designated territories and went out in twos.

As I walked along the Riverwalk of downtown Sanford, I noticed an older gentleman sitting on the pier. Holding a postcard in my hand, I said “Good morning, Sir, I’d like to invite you to a free community event hosted by our church…” He cut me off and said “…for the entire family.” Taken by surprised (not realizing that he was reading off the card in my hand), I asked him how he knew that. He immediated jumped all over me, that I didn’t even know what was on the card I was handing out; I was probably just asked to do this by my pastor and had nothing personally invested in it; I was obviously just following directions and doing someone’s work for them, etc. etc. Oh no, he di’n’t!!! Just what I didn’t need after pouring sweat and slapping the pavement for the Lord for the past 2 hours in 93 degree heat (plus humidity). So I calmly took off my bejeweled sunglasses, took a deep breath and said to him: “Look at me, Sir, let me introduce myself. My name is Sola Thompson, I am the Women’s Ministries Pastor at The Well, whose Lead Pastor is my husband, Joseph Thompson. I have had the honor and privilege of having led the organizing team of Overflow:Sanford for the past couple of months and would like to invite you to this free community event. Now do I have your attention?” As I spoke, I watched his face change from condescension to admiration. He then said “So you’re the Pastor? Oh, see, now you remind me of Mrs. Obama. You’re just as aggressive as she is!”

I rest my case.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hope Clark
    May 27, 2008 @ 11:59:33

    Tsk tsk tsk. Exactly what I was thinking, Sola! “Ooooohhhh I KNOW HE DI’N’T JUST SAY THAT!!

    Reply

  2. Teresa
    May 27, 2008 @ 12:37:37

    Score 1 for the pink warriors!-TK

    Reply

  3. ash
    May 27, 2008 @ 19:04:51

    BAHAHAHAHAHAHA……
    Ya, done good, Sola! I have to hand it to people, they’re sheer rudeness really does make for a funny story! Bless…people…

    Reply

  4. Nike A
    May 27, 2008 @ 20:46:57

    All I can say is ‘ O ti o!’. Not sure how to translate that but it is along the lines of ‘Oh he didn’t’
    What can I say? Shake it off and move on. Bless his heart!
    Hugs and Blessings!

    Reply

  5. solathompson
    May 27, 2008 @ 21:07:40

    Thank you, Ladies. I knew someone out there would feel me!

    Reply

  6. jthelmsdeep
    May 27, 2008 @ 21:40:06

    Not sure it’s a compliment to have my wife compared with Mrs Obama. I’m still thinking about that one… I’ll let you know.

    Reply

  7. Thea
    May 28, 2008 @ 02:36:04

    Seriously?? Half of me says “….umm…I don’t think I heard you clearly, would you like to try that again?” and the rest of me thinks if anyone needs a community event it’s HIM! Good gracious – Promise the man a hot dog and get him a little love from the community!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

