The Great Debaters

Denzel Washington , Jurnee Smollett , Nate Parker and Denzel Whitaker in The Weinstein Company's The Great Debaters

My hubby and I just got done watching a truly great movie – The Great Debaters. Set in the 1930s amidst all the social and civil nuances of that period, it’s about a black college professor (Denzel Washington) and his team of debaters, whom he grooms from novices to national champions. One of the debaters is a girl, who goes against the grain by virtue of the fact that she is black and female. A true pink warrior!

This movie was so good that Joseph was wide awake through it, despite having just taken some Tylenol PM! I doubt very much that I can do it justice in a few short paragraphs, so I won’t even try (I also don’t want to spoil it for those of you who haven’t watched it). It’s rated PG-13 and has a couple of episodes of language, but the story line definitely overpower those.  What I will do, though, is share with you my favorite part of the movie – something that the professor trained his students to memorize until it was deeply embedded in them:

Who is the judge? The judge is God.

Why is He God? Because He decides who wins or loses, not my opponent.

Who is your opponent? He doesn’t exist.

Why doesn’t he exist? Because he is a mute, dissenting voice to the truth that I speak.

WOW! As a believer, I know that my chief opponent, the enemy of my soul, does exist. However, armed with Truth in my heart and in my mouth, he is only as loud and audible as I allow him to be.

NOW WHERE IS THAT MUTE BUTTON?!

Leave a Reply

