There it goes!

View image detail

“There what goes?” I hear you ask. My grocery bill, that’s what! You see, tomorrow is the last day of school for my children. The beginning of 10 weeks of hearing the words “I’m bored!” followed by the familiar sound of the refrigerator door opening, or the creak of the pantry door in protest as, once again, “intruders” break through its puny defense in search of snack items that deceptively promise to fill the void created by teachers, friends and the never-ending drama of school days. This is the time of year that I’m grateful for a job outside the home that I can escape to!

When my kids were younger, I believed the lie that my sole purpose in life was to keep them entertained and keep the demon of boredom at bay. Now, not so much! I grew up and grew smart. Don’t you love how your kids can wisen you up in a hurry? I’ve never learned as much from anyone or anything as I have from my kids. Oh, and marriage. And friends, of the real and fake varieties. And planting a church. And…hey!!!!

Don’t get me wrong – I love my kids and love hanging out with them. But 10 weeks of 24/7? Come on now! I remember that first day of Kindergarten for my last child, Temi. I took her to school and after taking pictures and settling her in her class and everything, I walked calmly past all the mothers with leaking eyes and noses and Kleenex tissues and as soon as I was out of their sight and hearing, I let out a whoop of joy and clicked my ankles in elation. No more Dora the Explorer and Playhouse Disney! As I turned the corner, I caught the eye of another mother who looked at me knowingly and gave me a big, deliberate wink. As we passed each other, she held out her hand for a high five and I gave her one. I did not stand alone!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jthelmsdeep
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 08:53:23

    It might actually work out cheaper to hire a security guard to watch the fridge and pantry. I’m just sayin’

    Reply

  2. Nike A
    Jun 07, 2008 @ 00:03:53

    Hey – I hear you! My children have been out since the end of May!!!!!
    I am so thankful for Sams club! Hang in there my dear, you are NOT alone!
    Hugs and Blessings!!!!

    Reply

  3. solathompson
    Jun 07, 2008 @ 12:34:29

    JT – Hey, let’s look into the security guard option. I’m open to it!

    Nike – thanks for the solidarity. Good to know I have peeps on my side!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

