Such a tiny offering…

By Joey Velasco
My latest favorite song at the moment is “God with us” by Mercy Me. It talks about the price that Jesus paid for our salvation and how, once we grasp the extent of God’s love for us, we cannot but praise Him. Towards the end of the song, the best part (for me) goes like this:

“Such a tiny offering, compared to Calvary, but nevertheless, I lay it at Your feet.”

In the light of all the heartache going on in the world today, with the staggering numbers of deaths and missing people in Myanmar, China, India, etc., I’ve often asked myself “but what can I do? What difference can I make to the overwhelming malaise in this world?” Whatever it is would be such a tiny offering… Then I remember this song. There’s nothing we could do that could ever compare to Calvary, but that should never hinder us from doing. The difference it makes may not be much in measurable terms, compared to the humongous needs, but in God’s eyes, it counts for a lot. And pleasing Him, THAT’s all that matters!

So whether it’s saying a prayer for someone or giving to a worthy cause, where’s your tiny offering? Lay it at His feet! 

Click on the link below to listen to Mercy Me’s “God With Us”, featuring illustrations by a Filipino artist, Joey Velasco. Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/v/kPAAxL3OBAw&hl=en

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Jun 08, 2008 @ 13:34:40

    I love the reminder that EVERYONE has something to offer, whether they realize it or not. Even our tiniest gestures of kindness are noticed, if not by other people, then by God Himself! And when we are kind to strangers we don’t even know how big an effect our small kindness has on them: ie…when we were enroute to the cemetary to bury my sister, a man on the street took the hardhat off of his head and placed it over his heart as the funeral procession passed. I don’t know who that man was, but it touched me deeply, and to this day, over 20years later,I still pray blessings over him! So yes, lay it at His feet, and watch Him multiply it!

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 21:45:05

    That’s what I’m talking about – tiny offerings! Thanks, Teresa.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

