Got Clone?

View image detail

Don’t you wish sometimes you could just clone yourself? That’s me right now. I’ve got so much to do, I could use another one of me. Someone I don’t have to train or give instructions to about what I need done and how I need it done – she just knows, because she’s me!

We are on the final countdown to Overflow: Sanford, our community event in the historic Goldsboro district of Sanford, Florida.  It’s our opportunity to give back to our community, to people who could use it most. We’ll have a live Christian DJ (DJ Will from Jacksonville – oh yeah!), free food, giveaways of non-perishable food, clothing items, toiletries, bus passes etc. Practical stuff that people could use. We’ll even help out with one or two utility bills. We’ll have a healthcare tent providing vision screening and featuring a representative from the Red Cross; a voter information tent which will provide information on exercising our civic responsiblity; an employment tent featuring two non-profit organizations, Christian HELP and Goodwill Self-Sufficiency Center, who will educate people on how to be employable and find available resources; a prayer tent where people can get prayed for and get free Bibles. We’ll also have step teams and (interpretative) dance teams from the Boys & Girls Club and… a spades tournament (for those of you who, like me, had no idea, it’s a card game). Oh, and did I mention facepainting, cake walks, a dunk tank, door prizes, a bounce house – all FREE and all packed into 4 hours?!

There are so many administrative details involved in all of this and the administrator in me is bouncing off walls right now. It’s called “joyful stress” and I love it, even though I feel stretched paper-thin sometimes! Did I mention I’m fitting all this in around my daily job outside the home? Yeah.

Our amazing team (you guys rock!) has been working uber-hard to put this event together and with the blessing of the Lord through a corporate sponsor, we, a small, young church plant in Lake Mary, Florida, are able in turn to be a blessing to a community. Who ‘dda thunk it?! Such a tiny offering compared to Calvary!!

So if you think of it over the next few days, please pray for Overflow: Sanford and for our team at The Well. Oh, and especially for me. Not because I’m special but because I’m a glutton for prayer (hey, I’m just keepin’ it real)!!! 😉

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 11:51:58

    I WILL pray for Overflow. God told me to pray for your feet! As in Romans 10:15-“How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news”-So I have, and will! Blessings-TK

    Reply

  2. Joseph
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 13:44:34

    Looks like you’ve got it all under control so I’m off to play some golf or catch a movie or something 🙂

    Reply

  3. Nike A
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 18:33:11

    Hey – sounds like it is all under control to me.
    Seriously – you will definitely be in our prayers for God to move in a mighty way, for lives to be touched and for Him to get all the glory.
    Hugs and Blessings!

    Reply

  4. solathompson
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 01:09:47

    Thanks for all the prayers, Nike & Teresa. I could use it, even for my feet! Joseph, just wait till after Saturday – I’ll be living la vida loca (yeah, right!)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

