Holler from the ATL

USA, Georgia, Atlanta, Skyline at dusk

Hi y’all (you know I’m in the South). Yes, I’m in Atlanta! After our community event, Overflow: Sanford, we decided to take a much needed family vacation and we drove to Atlanta to visit with two of Joseph’s brothers and their families.

Overflow was a resounding success. WOW!!! We had so much to give away and it felt great to be a blessing. The people could not believe there was nothing in it for us. We weren’t even interested on “recruiting” members for our church. That’s what the Bible means by “it’s more blessed to give than to receive.” And our Event Crew rocked! What a team! I’m so honored to serve with such a band of brothers (and pink warriors, of course). I love those “Well-ers” (ie members of The Well)!! When I get my act together, I’ll post pictures, even though I’m not in any of them (I took them and forgot to have someone take one of me).

With a small reserve of funds we had put aside from our Overflow budget, we are able to assist some folks with their utility bills. One family needed a bill paid and we found out it was only the past due amount they requested assistance with. We were able to pay off the full balance and I can picture their joy when they find out their debt is paid in full. Does that remind you of something? We owed a debt we couldn’t pay and Jesus paid it off, in full. Such a tiny offering, compared to Calvary. 

So…feels great to kick back in the ATL with no agenda for the next few days. Here we are, all 11 of us in one house (like us, they’re a family of five, plus my Dad). No dull moment yet, and none in sight either. It’s fun, though, despite the fact that we adults “complain” about the “stress” of managing 6 excited kids in the house. We’re still waiting for the excitement of reunion to wear off and the squabbles to begin. Gotta love family!

Till tomorrow…holler!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 03:33:43

    “holla back-girl!” just kidding! well of course, i’m so happy that your event went so well. but i have to say: i’m thrilled you’re on a vacation in atlanta…”fan-freakin’-tab-u-lous!” see you thursday! xo

    Reply

  2. Hope Clark
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 17:12:01

    I took a couple pics with you in them, Sola. 🙂 I sent them to you…let me know if you get them. Can’t wait to see the others!

    Reply

  3. solathompson
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 21:21:38

    Yes, I got the pics, Hopeful. Thanks! Looking forward to seeing you on Thursday too, Ash.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

