The Real McCoy

OnePrayer.com

Yesterday, at church, we watched a message on DVD, titled “Lord, Make Us Authentic.” It was the last installment of our “One Prayer” series (see www.oneprayer.com). During the month of June, 1,585 churches (representing approximately 1 million believers) all over the world participated in the series, in manifestation of Jesus’ prayer “Make them one.” How amazing to know that vast numbers of people were praying the same prayer over the course of one month from all corners of the globe. 63 pastors submitted teachings on DVD, from which all the “One Prayer” participating churches selected their sermons for the month of June.

Chris Hodges’ message “Lord, Make Us Authentic” was just what the doctor ordered. I, for one, am sick and tired of us Christians pretending to be what or who we’re not. I loathe the duplicity that is so rampant in the church today. No wonder we have non-believers scoffing at us! Enough already!

Last year, I turned 40 (yes, folks, I’m forty and I’m fabulous 🙂 ) and I have to say it was quite a liberating experience for me. Unlike many women I know, I didn’t enter my 40s kicking and screaming. I RAN into them with arms outstretched. I felt re-born; like a debutante. Maybe because it also marked the end of a long, painful season of “night” that I’d experienced the previous year. Gone overnight was the need to impress, fit into a mold, or conform to anyone’s expectations. I resolved that the only one I’ll ever aim to please is God, and even then, pleasing Him is not a goal, but a byproduct of loving and knowing Him. From that stems my passion for the phenomenon I like to call Pink! i.e. a desire to embrace life and my calling, joyfully, confidently and authentically, and bring (or drag – your choice!) as many women along with me as possible. The way I see it, we only get one shot at this life, so let’s make the most of it, curve balls, bumps-in-the-road and all. And while we’re at it – please, oh please – let’s be authentic. Let’s find out who God made us to be and be that person, and not someone else’s ideal. So here’s the cry of my heart:

Lord, Make Me Authentic…Make Me The Real McCoy!!

That, people, is my two cents 😉

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nike A
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 14:07:44

    For me, being authentic is throwing away my black pair of trousers.
    Hunh? I hear you say. Hear me out –
    Just about the time I turned 42 (hint), the Lord likened the need for me to be authentic to me always hiding in a pair of black trousers. I wore them at least 4 times a week. It was the one item of clothing that I felt covered my imperfection.
    The Lord told me to embrace who I am including what I thought was an imperfection. So…I broke out of the black trousers – ever since that revelation, I wear flowery skirts, dresses and different colors of trousers including a pink pair! I know a bit of a girly, frilly thought but there you go – My 2 cents also.
    Hugs and blessings!

    Reply

  2. jthelmsdeep
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 14:16:48

    Nothing more to add!!!

    Reply

  3. solathompson
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 23:50:33

    I hear you, N. Thanks for sharing!
    JT, apparently there IS something more to add. Thanks for “adding” 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

