God is in the details

Today I got a reminder of how God is in the little details of our lives, and how He weaves them together in the most interesting of ways.

I made a quick trip to the post office to drop off a “boatload” of mail for my office. As I pulled into a parking spot, I was talking to my daughter, Bimi, on my cell phone, giving her instructions for getting dinner started because I had errands to run that would bring me home late. While I was coaching her on how to pan fry tilapia, I got out of the car and shut the door, only to hear the click that indicates that the doors are locked! I gasped as I stood outside my car, watching my car keys silently mocking me from the interior. Yes, I’d locked my keys in the car, and myself out – yikes! I quickly informed Bimi of what I’d done, noting that my husband would not be pleased to have to drive out 25 miles to bring me the extra set of keys, and hung up to think through the pickle I just found myself in.

Rewind to a few weeks ago. The airconditioning in my car went out – again! Scanning down the list of financial priorities, all of a sudden, the idea of “enjoying some natural breeze” didn’t seem too bad, so I opted for rolling down my windows while driving, at least for now. BTW, since I’ve been doing that, I’ve saved quite a pretty penny on gas – sweet! – and the weather hasn’t been too horrendously hot.

Anyway, back to my story. Before I stepped out of the car, I’d had the presence of mind to crack open my window so the car wouldn’t get too hot when I got out of the post office. As I circled the car, wondering what to do, I noticed that the driver’s side window was slightly rolled down and an idea became implanted in my brain. I looked around quickly for the right-shaped twig, found it and began an attempt to pop the lock button on the driver’s door. I shut my mind to how I must have looked to passersby and even drafted a quick response to any curious questions thrown my way! I was rewarded with the familiar click that told me the door was unlocked and my troubles were over, almost as quickly as they began.  I called Bimi back to tell her the good news and she informed me that my family had had a good laugh at my expense (feel the love?). She did also say that Joseph’s expression changed instantly when she mentioned that I’d said he might have to bring the spare keys to me. It was my turn to laugh.

Anyway, here’s my point: could it be that God orchestrated the timing of my AC going out, thus me needing to crack my windows open, thus me being able to pop the lock without incurring the expense of a locksmith or needing Joseph to drive the 50 mile round trip to rescue me? I know if my AC was working, I would not have needed to leave the window slightly cracked. Think it’s a stretch? I don’t know. I just know that God is interested in the tiny, minute, even seemingly trivial things that concern us, and He has a way of working every bump in the road to our advantage…or maybe it’s just me. Maybe I’m just special!!! 😉

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Joseph
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 18:42:04

    And Joseph adds a hearty hurrah for conked out a/c’s and wound down windows!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

