What if I asked for more?

I was thinking of Oliver Twist today. You know, the kid in Charles Dickens’ classic story. Grew up in a home for orphans, run by a cruel man. Forced by some bullies, Oliver dared to ask for more of the poor excuse for food that was served to each boy at meal time. This was unheard of! Nobody asked for more!! This bold act led to him being kicked out of the home.

I got to thinking about my life. I am truly blessed and grateful for each one of my blessings. But I find that it’s not enough! I want to make an impact in my world. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not looking to set any records, or bask in any limelight. I’m not talking about making an impact in the world, but in my world, my sphere of influence – my world. Even if I’m making any impact at all, I want more! I want more people to be better off because their paths crossed mine. I want there to be throngs of people at my funeral, like there were at my mother’s, not because I was famous, but because I cared and touched lives. Because I made a difference, one life at a time.

The only “things” that we can take to heaven with us are people. How many will be in heaven because of me? And of those already destined for heaven, how many will have more crowns because of my influence? Am I doing everything I can do, right now with my one shot at this life? Is God pleased with – no – impressed by me? These are some of the questions I’m asking myself right now. Like Oliver Twist, except not prompted by anyone else but my own desire, what if I took a risk that would make me stand out in a crowd? What if I dared to buck the status quo? What if…I asked for more?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nike A
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 08:27:05

    Most definitely food for thought…..you got me thinking this morning and that, is scary 🙂
    Love you lots!!!!

    Reply

  2. Teresa
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 09:50:54

    I’d rather ask for a lot and receive only part of it, than ask for a little and receive it all!
    Eph 3:20 I have to think about the whole “impressed by me” line. I’m not sure that we can IMPRESS God, or that that should be our goal. Maybe just to show Him how much we LOVE Him? Blessings-TK

    Reply

  3. solathompson
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 11:11:21

    Nike, love you back.

    Teresa, please hear my heart. Could be semantics, but I’m talking about the kind of confidence that God expressed with regard to Job’s faith. I’d say it was a step beyond “pleased”! If you don’t like my word, feel free to substitute yours, as long as you don’t miss the point of the blog. I agree – pleasing or “impressing” God is not the goal, but a byproduct of loving Him. It’s hard to communicate all of one’s thoughts in a few lines of blog. Thanks for your input.

    Reply

  4. Teresa
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 17:32:42

    Sorry Sola, I did get the point, but got interrupted by my husband during my reply and didn’t get to re-read, or finish what I was thinking to express myself better before I posted. It’s one of the perils of him having an office at home! Blessings again!-TK

    Reply

Leave a Reply

