Wanting More…take 2

By Joey Velasco

 

“Small Strokes Big Hopes” by Joey Velasco

 

 

 

 

 

 

OK, it’s Monday and my mind has rested and is kicking into high gear again! That’s what moments of silence will do for you 🙂

I have had a few interesting comments and discussions since I posted my “What if I asked for more?” blog on July 7. The overwhelming comment is that rather than desiring to do more, our focus should be on loving God. I couldn’t agree more! However, what does “loving God” really mean? Is it a state of being, where I love Him in my heart and this love just remains between Him and I? 

I truly believe that loving God is the starting point in my service to Him and others, but it is not the end.  It is the launchpad from which everything I do as a believer must originate, and indeed it is the measuring stick of my relationship with Him. The byproduct of loving is doing. Because I love Him, I obey Him i.e. I do. My love for Him adds feet to my faith. I think of when Jesus asked Peter repeatedly if he loved Him (John 21:15-17)? Each time Peter responded in the affirmative, Jesus told him, “Feed my sheep.” In other words, if you love me, you will do; you will demonstrate it by feeding my sheep. I also remember that well-loved verse “For God so loved the world that He gave…” As a result of loving the world so much, He gave! In the same way, when I love deeply, I can’t but manifest that love in a tangible form. Imagine me telling my husband every day that I love him, but not doing a single thing to demonstrate that love? No matter how flowery the words may sound, they wouldn’t mean much after a while.

That’s what I mean when I say I want to “impress” God. I know He’s pleased with me and I don’t need to seek His approval – that’s not what I’m talking about. I want to love Him so extravagantly that I am motivated by that love to do: win more souls; serve more selflessly; impact more lives; change my world and be Jesus in the 21st century (even dressed in pink!). That kind of love can’t sit still. It’s like a fire shut up in one’s bones. I’m talking the dance-until-your-clothes-fall-off kind of love like David’s!! The kind that ultimately, even though that’s not the motivation, gets you a “Well done, good and faithful servant,” and not just a pass into heaven. I guess what I’m saying is I don’t want a C grade, but an A+. Now THAT’s what I’m talking about!!!

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Joseph
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 05:24:59

    Uh Huh! You got that right!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

