Happy Birthday to me

Yep, it’s my birthday! The novelty of celebrating my birthday wore off for me some time ago, a phenomenon my kids cannot relate to. I keep trying to explain to them how, when you’ve had so many of them and they seem to come around so quickly, you’re no longer so excited about throwing a party each time. Not in a “bah-humbug” kinda way, just more like “oh yeah, it IS my birthday!” And unlike a lot of women, I’m not shy about revealing my age. I turned 41 today.

Fortunately, I am blessed to have people in my life who think my birthday IS a big deal. That never ceases to move me. I was late to work this morning because I was being serenaded by my family and extended family across the ocean (via phone). I got to work and my office was decorated with a vase of flowers, a card and a birthday cake sitting on my desk. I got home and walked into a house bursting with aromas from the slap-up meal my husband and kids were putting finishing touches to (I’m still bursting at the seams from it). Oh, and did I mention the dozens of phone calls, text messages, emails and Facebook messages I received? And presents in the mail! Just one tiny little shadow darkened my day, but only fleetingly. This was the first time I didn’t get that customary call from my mother to wish her baby a happy birthday. Then I pictured her in heaven, dancing and laughing, and I had to laugh along with her.

So on this 17th day of July, 2008, I thank God for birthdays, but more importantly, I thank God for the love of friends and family. I love you back, ad infinitum!

Leave a Reply

