Grace for the moment

I haven’t blogged for a couple of days. I didn’t feel like it. Period. Wanna know why? Funny you should ask!

My husband is on a trip, out of the country and I felt like a fish out of water! I must say it took me by surprise. You see, Joseph was a traveling minister for about 7 years, before we moved to Florida to plant The Well. Before that time, I used to marvel at the wives of traveling ministers, wondering how they coped with a husband who was gone so much. Then I unraveled that mystery, when Joseph stepped into that season of itinerant ministry. I learned first hand that God gives us grace for the season, whatever that season is, as long as it is He who ordained it. So I became the one that other women used to marvel at, wondering how I coped with a husband who was on the road so often. I must say, though, I had my moments back in those days, when I could have traded in my kids for a pair of garden shears (and I’m no gardener). At those times, I realized that I was not tapping into the grace that God had made available for me. Sort of like dying of thirst when there’s a fully functioning drinking fountain right behind you – duh! So I’d retreat and find my way back. Worked every time.

Well, fast forward to now. It’s one thing when Joseph is out of town in South Dakota or Texas, but London, England, with a 5-hour time difference? I had fallen out of the habit of finding “grace to help in time of need” because I hadn’t had to, since those on-the-road days were over, so I found myself floundering. No meltdowns or episodes of drama, just subtle…apathy. I guess I just don’t function the same without him. Even having complete monopoly of the remote control lost its novelty. Then all of a sudden, I started to feel something familiar, a throwback to days gone by, a gentle urging and beckoning from somewhere deep inside me that I couldn’t touch or describe. Then I recognized it – the call of grace. Hey, I know that voice! My steps lightened and my heart beat a little faster. There… all better now. His grace is sufficient for me.

You too… 😉

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hope
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 17:17:13

    I’ll say a little prayer for extra comfort for you.

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 19:54:52

    Thanks, Hope. I’ll never say no to prayer 😉

    Reply

  3. Joseph
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 17:03:23

    Wow, Sweetie, I’m all verklamped! I didn’t realize you missed me so much. Any way, considering all the spiritual lessons you seem to be drawing out of my time away, I wonder if I should extend the trip a bit!?! Just kidding, I’m soooo looking forward to getting back home tomorrow.

    Reply

  4. solathompson
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 19:32:28

    Me too, Joseph!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

