Aaaah…Friday!

 

So here we are – it’s Friday. Yay! I LOVE Fridays, and I know I’m not alone. On my way home from work, I stopped at Blockbuster, then at Hungry Howie’s to pick up a pizza for movie night with the kids. It took about 5 minutes for my debit card to be processed. Apparently, the bank lines were congested with all the people transacting Friday night business. So, I know I’m not alone in my love of Friday. There’s even a restaurant named accordingly (TGIF ie. Thank God It’s Friday, for my international readers)! Finally, I got home just in time to savor the cozy feeling of being in the comfort of my house while a thunderstorm rages outside.

Then I got to thinking of all those people out there who, for whatever reason, don’t love Fridays like I do. People who don’t have anyone to buy pizza for and watch movies with. Who don’t have a comfy home to enjoy a rainstorm in. Whose utilities have been shut down, so they don’t have electricity to turn on their stove to cook, never mind watch a movie. And I realize how easy it is to take blessings for granted. I pray that I never get so comfortable that I forget how to feel, or can’t relate to, the pain of others.

So this weekend, as I sit back and relax from the work week, I want to be intentional about having an attitude of gratitude because I have so much to be grateful for.

Happy weekend, y’all!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 23:03:11

    i hope your weekend is a great one. i, on the other hand, am just beginning my week…and certainly i have a “case of the mondays” (*movie/office space?)- i’m jealous of your hubby’s travels…but soon i hope to have my own! have fun! xoxo

    Reply

  2. Joseph
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 17:06:30

    Aw, Sweetheart, that’s so thoughtful and sensitive of you. I guess we all need to remember to have an attitude of gratitude, since it’s so easy to take blessings for granted. See you soon, as I refuse to take for granted the fact that you’re willing to have me gone for extended periods of time. 🙂

    Reply

  3. solathompson
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 19:30:26

    Thanks, Ash. I love going places, but don’t like the time it takes to get there!

    It’s called sharing, dear. I learned how to do that when I was a toddler 😉 And who said anything about “extended periods of time”???!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

