Here today, gone tomorrow…

 …That’s pretty much going to be Joseph over the next few weeks. He got home yesterday from the UK and will be off again to Guatemala on a missions trip with a team from our church in a few days. When he gets back from Guate, he’ll be taking off again a few days later to make a quick trip to Lagos (Nigeria). Meanwhile, I’ll be staying with the kids and holding down the fort. As much as I’d have loved to go with him on his travels, it’s just not a good time for me to go right now (let’s not even talk about the cost). I’m OK with that. Really. 

You see, I got to thinking (aaaarrgh, not again!)… when school starts, I’ll have 2 kids in high school and my baby in middle school. My son Demi will be home one more year before he takes off for college in Tampa (Go Bulls!). I have so much to teach him yet! The other day, I think I projected my insecurities on him as I regaled him with tales of collegiate drama and he looked at me with near-panic and said “Mom, I’m not ready for college!” I felt guilty. But only a teeny bit. Then there’s Bimi going into high school – ay, ay, ay. Lord, help us. Temi is terrified of middle school because her elementary school (which is right next door to her new middle school) is so tiny in comparison. She’s afraid of getting lost in the “big pond.” I know she’ll be fine – she’s tough and well grounded. Actually, I know they’ll all be fine; I guess I’m just trying to wrap my mind around the fact that they’ll need me less and less as they grow. Although I’m seriously considering home-schooling Bimi in college (can I do that?)

Anyway, what I’m trying to say is… I’m OK with holding down the fort at home because it won’t be long before all my little chicks fly the coop and it’ll just be Mama Hen and Papa Rooster left. I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it. Today, I’ll enjoy having Papa Rooster at home, enjoying his home-cooked meals as he tries out new recipes he discovered on his travels, and I’ll gorge myself on the European chocolates he brought back and count the calories later. I’ll eat pizza and watch silly movies with my little chicks while I still can. I’ll embrace the season and seize the day because, as Carolyn Arends so eloquently put it, “time slips away just like hourglass sand.”

Signed,

Mama Hen

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 15:39:28

    i love how poetically you phrased your blog today. it’s beautiful…and quirky. your kids will be fine, as i’m sure you see. anticipation is always the worst! g’day mate!

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 21:49:01

    Thanks, Ash.

    Reply

  3. Joseph
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 18:25:23

    I don’t know about all this hen and rooster stuff, however, I do know that it won’t be too long before I can take the padlock off the fridge and not have to worry about a ‘private stash’ cupboard. 🙂 Hurry up and come, college days!!!

    Reply

  4. solathompson
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 00:43:49

    OK, I’ll remind you one day, when you’re crying on my shoulder because you miss your kids!!!

    Reply

  5. Teresa
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 17:32:19

    We left our daughter yesterday, at FSM in KS, in an apartment with a girl we met only that day (she’s a real sweetheart though!). She is 6 hrs away! Don’t be in a hurry for the college days! I MISS her already, although I didn’t cry at all-until this morning at church when the music started-then I couldn’t stop! Very embarassing! Anticipation is NOT the worst-I’ve been crying off and on since January in anticipation, and the real thing is worse-but is is also SO RIGHT somehow. We’re launching her on an unsuspecting world! She’ll do GREAT things for and in HIS name!

    Reply

  6. solathompson
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 20:45:00

    Amen, Teresa!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

