I had a dream…

   

Like most people, I sometimes have the weirdest dreams. Much of the time, I don’t even remember them when I wake up.

Last night, I dreamt that I was visiting a friend who lived on some sort of campus. She was showing me around and introducing me to her friends and leaders. We went to a building which was where they worshipped. I’m not sure what faith or belief system they had, but they had a lot of rules. For instance, we could not enter certain parts of the building because we had not attained a certain spiritual level that would grant us access to those places. She asked someone (a woman) to walk with us who was obviously high up spiritually because she had unrestricted access everywhere. I walked with both of them inside the building, not realizing that I had to take my shoes off at the entrance. At some point, they noticed I had shoes on, and the other lady showed obvious signs of exasperation because now, she had to go into an inner room to perform certain rituals to “cleanse” the contamination that I’d introduced by wearing shoes in the building. As she went in, we had to wait for her. I could tell my friend was upset at me and in my mind, I was thinking  “sheesh…sorry!”  You know that kind of “sorry” that is anything but (even in my dream, I showed some sass). When the lady finally emerged, we resumed our tour. A minute later, I had a thought (“snap!”, as my kids would say). I asked my friend what would happen if – hypothetically, of course – someone entered the building during their “time of the month.” She looked at me with a look that said “no, you didn’t!!!” Out of the corner of my eye, I saw the beginnings of an apoplectic fit on the face of the other lady.  So I quickly said “hey, I was only asking!” and immediately repented in my heart for telling a lie. Then I woke up.

As I recalled the tail end of that dream, I was grateful that God does not require such strict and stringent rules for us to come to Him. All He asks is that we come believing, and in the name of Jesus. When we blow it, we don’t need another equally fallible human to enter an inner chamber on our behalf to pray for our cleansing. We can even wear shoes. And anytime is a good time, as far as He is concerned, even during our “time of the month”!

Told you my dreams were weird! Hmm…or maybe they’re not…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 02:54:54

    praise the lord women do not have to be cast from the city anymore during that time…cuz man add pms on top and women would could never be a contribution to society! that is a strange dream! and it does make our God that much more a blessing to behold….

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 20:42:55

    Word, Ash! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

