Habla usted espanol?

 

A team from our church left for Guatemala on a short-term missions trip at o’dark thirty this morning. My husband and Bimi, our 14 year old, are on this trip. Needless to say, our house feels very strange right now. Usually, we only have one family member gone at a time, or all of us. The kids are certainly not used to being separated for long periods of time. Even when they don’t admit it, you know they miss each other. I knew life was going to be different this week when my 11 year old, Temi, came on my early morning walk with me (what?!).  Then my 17 year old son, Demi called me on my cell phone to ask if he should help with dinner so it would be ready by the time I got home [gasp!]

I’m excited for our team in Guate. I don’t know what God is going to do in and through them, but I’m looking forward to it. I do know that I’m praying for a paradigm shift for Bimi, for God to do something in her heart, just in time for a new chapter of her life as she begins high school. Then as I think of the strange happenings of the day and the fact that it’s only the first day, maybe, just maybe, Bimi is not the only candidate for a paradigm shift… 😉

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 10:33:21

    I’ll pray for the team in Guatemala. Your DH said in his blog that Bimi was 15, you say 14-guess who I believe? I hope she sees and learns alot! Their hearts are so tender at that age (14 or 15!)

    It’s tough when hubby is gone isn’t it? (mine travels too)-and since we recently dropped our daughter at college-well, it feels just extra empty here. Today I get to go clean up her room-looks like a hurricane went through there!-(from packing I would say, but it usually looked that way when she lived here too!) So, I’m on a short term “mission” too-pray that I can get her room and bathroom under the “bio-hazard” level!-and who knows, maybe I’ll find hidden treasure in there!

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 16:59:06

    Teresa, you’ve totally busted my man! Bimi is 14 right now and will be 15 in December. Joseph was rounding up her age. Thanks for the prayers. I’ll return the favor as you take on your daughter’s ” danger zone”!! As for “hidden treasure”, remember the saying “one man’s trash is another’s treasure”? You’ll find treasure, alright – the question is WHOSE? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

