Pray, pray, pray…

 

Thanks to all those who are praying for our missions team to Guatemala. Today, they spent most of the day at a domestic violence shelter. I spoke to Joseph and the report I got was “it was awesome!” I’ve heard it said that women have twice as many words to use up in one day as men. That being the case, if it were me, I’d have put a dent in my daily quota and come up with something a bit more descriptive, but it’s all good – I’ll get the full report later. Besides, in fairness to him, they had just got back from the shelter and were preparing to go to an evening service at a local church where he preached and our worship team led worship, along with the resident worship team.

While you’re praying, please pray for the Steven Curtis Chapman family. As everyone knows, they suffered a painful blow a few months ago when their youngest daughter (5 years old) was accidentally run over and killed by the family vehicle driven by her teenage brother. The Chapman family has been on my heart since then as I know they have been on countless others’. Tomorrow, they will be on “Good Morning America” where they will talk about their experience for the first time since the accident. Then on Thursday, they will be on Larry King Live. This is a wonderful opportunity – through secular media – to demonstrate God’s faithfulness even in the kidst of pain, tragedy and unanswered questions. My prayer is that their testimony will be a witness to people who don’t know the Lord or who are hurting and feel alone. Will you join me?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 11:09:58

    Absolutely! I’ve been praying for the entire family since BEFORE the accident. (You may have guessed I’m a HUGE fan!) My son gave his heart and life to Christ at a SCC concert 4 yrs ago, when he was here for LIFELIGHT. I pray their story reaches and touches MANY for Christ, and I applaud their willingness to be so open on such a vulnerable subject, even while still grieving. PRAISE GOD, who is the source of their strength!

    Reply

  2. Nike A
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 11:50:29

    Most definitely, they will be in our prayers also. I hope to watch the piece or at ‘tivo’ it for later. Love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

