Back to school! Yay…right?

It seems like only a week ago that I was dreading the loooong summer vacation that would turn my children into couch potatoes that occasionally came to life just long enough to deplete my food supply and say “I’m bored!” (see my blog ‘There it goes’ of 6/5/08). I can’t believe it’s over and time to go back to school.

They say time flies when you get older. I know time flies, but the “older” part, I’m not too sure about. You see, I took a “Real Age” test on Facebook, which puts me at 19, and you know those things are true. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

Anyway, it’s back to school and it’s a big year for my kids. Demi is in his last year of high school, Bimi begins high school and Temi begins middle school.  I remember people telling me when they were little to enjoy those days because they’d go by so fast. I remember looking at those people thinking, “alright for you to say, you’re not the one stuck in time warp while life goes on around you.” I even remember wishing the kids would hurry up and grow up so I could get a life! Not that I want them to be rugrats all over again, I’m just amazed how true it is that they DO grow up so quickly. Before I know it, Joseph and I will be empty nesters. In the mean time, bring on the teenage angst, hormones and drama. Oh, and double that order, as my baby joins the ranks of junior high-ers. Ay, ay, ay. Pray for me!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nike A
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 21:30:13

    Well – just so you know we started school last Monday. Talking about age – I am STILL trying to figure out how I became the mother of two high schoolers!!!!
    Happy new school year my dear and you KNOW we are going to be comparing stories!

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 23:29:25

    Of course we’ll be comparing stories. Why stop now? 😉

    Reply

  3. ash
    Aug 17, 2008 @ 02:20:18

    teenagers ARE drama, sometimes…that sister of mine…i’m about to whoop her toosh! ah, but she’s still my cute kid sister anyway….such a catch 22, eh?

    Reply

  4. solathompson
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 21:59:33

    Ash, I seem to recall a certain teenager some years back who coulda used a “toosh-whooping” herself on at least one occasion. Ring any bells? No, I didn’t think so!(LOL) 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

