How ’bout that LZR Racer?

 

LZR Racer High Neck Bodyskin / PRE-ORDER NOW!

No doubt the attention that Michael Phelps is garnering as a topshelf athlete is well deserving. However, something else caught my attention aside from the indomitable Phelps – Speedo’s LZR Racer, the supersuit of the 2008 Olympics. Here’s an excerpt from The Wall Street Journal:

“[Speedo’s] crusade began in February when it blitzed the competition with the introduction of the LZR Racer. It featured a “compression zone” around the torso and other parts of the body that reduced muscle and skin vibration, allowing swimmers to conserve more energy. ”

Forget about conserving energy. I’ll even pass on the core-stabilizing properties – a suit that can reduce muscle and skin vibration? Think what other kinds of vibrations it can reduce! The possibilities are endless! Why didn’t Hanes or Victoria’s Secret think of it? I’ll take one, please! And with a price tag of $475, surely they’ll have a layaway program…

Happy weekend! 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 11:04:28

    Frankly, it looks a little “Star Trekkie” to me, and I don’t know about the ‘conserving energy’ part either. Personally speaking, it would be quite a workout just to try stuffing all of myself into it. Where does the excess of me go to? I’d probably end up with cankles and a 30 inch neck! I’ll pass. I’ll bet I can find a more fun way to blow $475 too!

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 21:53:02

    [LOL] I hear you, Teresa! It was a nice thought while it lasted. I, too, can throw $475 a lot farther than one supersuit!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

