Put ’em up, Fay!

 

So… it was back to work for me and back to school for the kids today. Funny thing is, this is really the day we should have had off. Lots of high, gusty winds, rain, rain, rain and flash floods everywhere. I had Joseph’s oversize, heavy-duty umbrella today and the wind whipped it inside out as if it were one of those tiny straw umbrellas in those tall, yummy drinks you can get at those places where the beautiful people hang out (ahem…so I’m told). A couple of times, I kid you not, I thought I was going to take flight like a veritable Mary Poppins!

They say Fay is moving so slowly, that at times, a fast-paced walker can out-walk it! Which brings me to something that’s been itching under my bonnet the last couple of days: who names these storms and how do they decided whether it’s a “boy” or a “girl”? And why on earth are people referring to Fay as a “she”?! That’s what I wanna know!

Anyway, as I was saying, the weather was so bad today that schools are closing again tomorrow. Of course, my kids are rejoicing. They made me prove to them that they had to go today, then Bimi “missed” the school bus and I had to take her to school! Me, as much as I enjoyed my surprise two days off, I really can’t afford a third in the same week. The thought of wading through backlog actually inspires me to challenge Fay to a one-on-one. You know…woman to woman! Hai-yah! You betta ax somebody, Ms. Fay!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Aug 22, 2008 @ 11:04:04

    whip out those dukes! i’m bringin’ my popcorn and comin’ to that fight! yis…put me down for a million on sola, please!

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Aug 22, 2008 @ 20:39:17

    You just made good money, Ash. I showed that Fay pepper (as my fellow Nigerians would say)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

