Happy Birthday, JT!

 

JT and me in full Nigerian attire

JT and me in full Nigerian attire

Today is the birthday of one of the most amazing people I know – my husband, Joseph. I could attempt to write an ode, compose a worthy tribute or pen lofty phrases in honor of him today, but I doubt that any of that could adequately express my thoughts, so I won’t even try, especially not at 6:30 a.m.! The kids and I got up early so we could wish him a great day and speak blessings into his life on this special day, but, honestly, my brain does not wake up before the sun and it’s still o’dark thirty out there. So I’ll let my heart do the talking…

Joseph, my husband, my pastor, my bestest-est friend, thank you for being who you are. I love that about you – you make no apologies for who you are because you are comfortable in your own skin (to borrow a french expression). I have known you for more than half of my life and I can honestly say it’s been the best part. I love watching you grow, even now, and sharing your bed, your life and your money (my bad!) dreams. If I’d never married you, like the words of a great song, “I might have been wading through the river, when [God] wanted me to walk upon the sea.” What a ride it’s been, and it’s not over yet! I have so much more to look forward to. Trust me, my seatbelt is strapped on (has been since the day we met). Woo-hoo!

Have a great day, my sweetheart, and know that you are loved, much more than you know!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joseph
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 20:53:33

    Awwww, I’m all verklamped!!! Thank you sweetie. I love you too.

    Reply

  2. ash
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 03:51:50

    wow…i love it when you guys where your nigerian attire…it’s so beautiful…both of you look amazing. i love …culture. it’s breathtaking…and you two are definitely good-looking.

    hope the birthday celebrating was a blast. love to you both. ash

    Reply

  3. solathompson
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 21:43:51

    Thanks, Ash! And yes, the birthday boy had a blast. Fait accompli!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

