What age is middle age?

 

What is the first thing that comes to your mind when you see this picture? Yep. Middle age crisis.

My husband and I were having a discussion a few days ago about how old you have to be to be middle aged. I think 40 and he thinks 50. So, like the contemporary, internet-dependent, intelligent thinker that I am, I turn to Wikipedia for the answer. Turns out nobody can agree on what age middle age begins at. The “official” stance is that you take the average life expectancy and half of that is your middle age. Makes sense, until you realize how subjective that is. The age you get with this formula will vary depending on race, gender, ethnicity, geographical location and other variables that determine life expectancy. One writer says “you know you’re middle aged when you wake up with a hangover and realize you didn’t even drink the night before!” Hmmm…

Me, I think that at 41, I’m middle aged. I’m not a child, or a youth, or an adolescent, or elderly and I demand to belong to a category, doggone it! Of course I’m just kidding. I really couldn’t care less what grouping I’m filed under. It certainly wouldn’t be for my own benefit (although some of those senior discounts are nothing to sneeze at!). For now, I’m enjoying the season where I keep people guessing my age. I even got carded once a few years ago at a grocery store when I went to pick up some O’Douls (non-alcoholic beer) to make a substitute for a British beverage called shandy that my husband loved to drink. They keep it with the regular beer and I guess it showed up as an alcoholic beverage. When I showed my driver’s license, the cashier turned red and apologized. I told her I loved her.

The day will come when there will be no need to play guessing games about my age – it will be all too obvious. For now, I’ll take my vitamins and glucosamine and celebrate every new gray hair I discover on my head, because I’ve earned it and (as L’Oreal knows so well), because I’m worth it!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Sep 05, 2008 @ 01:36:31

    ha ha…my poor boyfriend at age 27 is already getting greys. of course we both agree on his claim that i’ve given him those grey hairs…..relish is the glory and wisdom, my friend!

    Reply

  2. Teresa
    Sep 05, 2008 @ 12:32:10

    Here I thought ‘middle-aged’ was when your ‘middle’ started being the biggest part on your body (pregnant women get a by on this)-and you start dressing to ‘hide’ it!

    Reply

  3. solathompson
    Sep 06, 2008 @ 01:36:51

    Ash, I’m relishing!
    Teresa, I’ve been pregnant before; can I get a by too?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

