Hooked on ‘tronics

So… yesterday we had a big old thunderstorm. I’m talking the kind that horror movies are made of. You know the kind of storm that’s so much fun to sleep through? Yeah, not that kind. I’m still amazed that our power did not get cut off. What did get cut off, though, was our internet (and our phone, but that’s not quite as dire). We got unplugged! Totally messed up my flow, I tell you. TV was working, but as much as I’m getting into the whole football thing because my son has decided that he will chase a pigskin as long as God gives him breath, I can only watch so much of it at a time. I was running out of options. There was only one thing left to do. It’s an ancient art that has lost its popularity in today’s culture. I decided to go old school and…READ!!! Something other than the Bible, I mean. I was thrilled to realize that it was like riding a bike – you never forget it.

Maybe I’ll declare an internet fast one of these days. Think my boss would go for it? I’m just sayin’…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. James Wells
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 22:15:02

    An internet fast would be good. I recommend Fridays

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 23:43:41

    Oops, totally busted by the boss! Who knew he’d be reading my blog? Hey James, can I have that in writing???!!!

    Reply

  3. Joseph
    Sep 23, 2008 @ 08:47:13

    Wow! I guess we might start a new trend and make Friday’s really frivolous and internet free, huh?

    Reply

  4. solathompson
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 12:09:56

    Seriously, can I have that signed AND notarized?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

