Talkin’ ’bout the bad, bad girls…yeah!

And What We Can Learn from Them

So… I started a women’s study group in my home recently, on Liz Curtis Higgs’ “Bad Girls of the Bible: and what we can learn from them” Nice. I’d been looking for a fun book that would stimulate discussion and at the same time provide some “meat” and a bonding experience. Tall order? Well, I found it.

What I love, love, love about it is the way the author begins with a fictional contemporary narration of whichever “bad girl” she is focusing on in each chapter. She weaves a modern-day story that portrays the life of the lady in question. With just the right blend of humor and wisdom, each “bad girl” evolves from being a character in the Bible to you or someone you know. You totally get her! After all, every one of us, to one degree or another, is a bad girl transformed by grace. In fact, some of us are still works in progress.

The women in our group could not be more diverse. We have women ranging in age from 20-something to 60-something, black, white, hispanic… with that kind of mix, you can imagine how much fun we’re having. At the same time, we’re growing and learning to be conformed more and more to God’s image.

Oh yeah, I’m REALLY lovin’ me some Women at The Well right now!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nike A
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 23:38:28

    Okay – I will take your word for it and put this on my ‘to-read’ list.
    I am hooked on Francine Rivers right now and embarking on reading her ‘Lineage of Grace’ series. I just finished ‘Unashamed’ and have a totally new understanding of the life and lineage of Rahab. Hugs and Blessings!

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 19:22:31

    Right back atcha…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

