Flights of Fancy (or faith)

View image detail

So here I am, with Joseph in Tewksbury, Massachussetts. Joseph will be guest-ministering at a service tonight and 2 services on Sunday. We enjoy coming here every year and hanging out with our friends, even though it’s a little later in the year than usual this time. But I’m not complaining – I get to see the colors of fall, just about the only thing I miss, living in Florida. What’s more, my weekend is filled with promises of awesome services, lobster and home-baked apple pie (don’t hate, appreciate!)

So as I looked out of my airplane window while we were taking off, I got to thinking… (aargh –ย it hurts!!) how is it that we can always entrust our lives into the hands of a perfect stranger, even if the stripes on his jacket declare his qualification to fly a metal bird over thousands of miles, and yet sometimes we find it hard to entrust those same lives into the hands of the One who gave them to us in the first place? The Captain of my airplane has control of it only as long as he can keep the law of gravity under submission to the law of lift-and-drag (whatever the fancy word for that law is). If he can’t, then what? What about the One who instituted all the laws in the first place? Surely He knows a thing or two that my flight Captain doesn’t! Surely He can be trusted with every detail of this fleeting life that He Himself gave to me? I’m just sayin’…

Happy weekend, y’all ๐Ÿ™‚

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nike A
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 18:43:31

    Happy weekend to you too. Have fun and think about us in ATL as we drive around looking for gas….

    Reply

  2. joey
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 05:57:41

    Good word Sola! Thanks for the reminder!

    Reply

  3. solathompson
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 22:57:23

    Nike, I hope you’ve got gas (fuel, I mean!) ๐Ÿ™‚

    Joey, I needed the reminder myself. Glad it spoke to you too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

