We’re in the same vote – I mean, boat!

I’m excited about the upcoming Presidential elections. You see, it will be the first time that I will be able to vote, having naturalized as an American citizen in the last couple of years. What a privilege to have a say in the direction of this great nation! I don’t take that lightly at all.

What I’m not excited about is the process leading up to it. Can somebody say “ugh”? All the banter back and forth, the bickering among followers of the different parties. I made up my mind during the first elections I witnessed after coming to this country that I would not participate in political arguments. I have never seen one where someone wins! I know people who believe that a christian democrat is an oxymoron (or an ox and a moron – ha ha!) and others who are convinced that a christian republican belongs in a museum with narrow halls (to accommodate their narrow minds). Can we all just get along? I have a dear friend who jokes that “politics is of the devil” because it divides and polarizes us, even (especially?) in the body of Christ.

So…next month, I will vote, because it’s my duty and because I can. Somebody went to a lot of trouble to make this possible and I will not disregard their effort. I will vote prayerfully, not for a party or for my personal agenda, but for the man I believe is more able to lead us into the next season of our history (Ross Perot’s running, right? 🙂 ), whether he ends up winning or not.

And I’m not telling you who I’m voting for!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Oct 06, 2008 @ 23:42:48

    Good for you! I’m excited that you get to participate in the voting with us this year. And you’re right, we should vote for the person we believe will do the best job, not the status quo or what will fit the demographic…(course, it’s too bad perot was the last independent candidate to make a big impact…of course, that could change again)…guess we’ll see what happens!

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 23:06:03

    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

