My happy place

I think everyone should have a happy place – you know, that place you can go to when you just need a break from the stress of life. For some, it’s an actual physical location. For others, it’s in the mind and to get there, you travel on the wings of thought and arrive in an instant.

On my way to work today, I arrived at my happy place without necessarily intending to go there. I slipped in a  CD by my favorite Nigerian worship leader, Wale Adenuga (and Fountain of Praise) and listened to a song called Hosanna. Immediately, I was transported to a simpler world, where God is bigger than any circumstance, situation or economic recession. Even though I was driving on a relatively deserted county road lined with forest and roadkill, I was also in my happy place, totally at peace and overwhelmed by the love of the Lord.

The song is sung in my native tongue of Yoruba (a Nigerian language), the video is a little “pixelly” and ends rather abruptly, but I thought I’d share it with you. I hope you’ll hear the heart behind the song. Here’s the English translation of the words:

Hosanna, hosanna, hosanna

You alone deserve the glory, Father (2x)

Who is like You, King of kings?

Who is like You, Almighty One?

I bow before You, I give You praise,

I cry “hosanna”

May you find your happy place any time you need to go there. Happy weekend! 🙂

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Oct 11, 2008 @ 11:21:43

    Sola! That was BEAUTIFUL! What a wonderful way to start the day, thank you for sharing. When I am in need of a ‘quiet’ place with God, I picture my self crawling into the wound in His side. Sounds a little weird, I know-but it is safe, and warm and nothing can get at me there-I am literally ABIDING in Christ, and always emerge refreshed! Maybe I’ll be able to memorize that song, and sing it to Him while I’m in there with Him! Have a joyous day! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Thea
    Oct 11, 2008 @ 14:09:34

    There is something so beautiful and overwhelming about connecting with the Lord through worship in a language you do not know. The Spirit of the Lord is so sweet in this worship time and almost enveloping – thanks for sharing this…it made my day 🙂

    Big hugs – you are a gift!

    Reply

  3. solathompson
    Oct 13, 2008 @ 20:35:35

    So glad it blessed you too.

    Reply

  4. Hope Clark
    Oct 14, 2008 @ 09:44:07

    Ahhhhhhh… so beautiful. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

