You know you’re getting old when…

So…I had an idea today to come up with a few signs of aging that I’ve noticed in my own life. Do feel free to jump in with a few of you own. I must admit, as much as I’m enjoying this season of my life, there are a few aspects of it that I didn’t sign up for (or maybe I missed the fine print). Be that as it may, I’ll take the good with the bad but I’ll pass on the ugly, thank you very much.

So here’s my first observation. You know you’re getting old when…

…you start talking to yourself, just like some of those “crazy” old folk you knew when you were growing up.

Today, I went to the post office to pick up some office mail. As the clerk handed me the certified letter I just signed for, I noticed that it was addressed to the right recipient, but at the wrong address. So I proceeded to wonder out loud why on earth the sender would use that address. I didn’t realize that the clerk was watching me as I took the letter and walked away while staring at it, audibly mumbling my perplexity. An awkward silence prompted me to look back and in an embarassed tone, I said, “Oh, don’t mind me, I talk to myself sometimes.” He smiled uncomfortably and said, “OK, but I wasn’t gonna say nuthin’…”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 23:56:57

    well gee, sola, at only a “quarter of a century” old, i already pass this test! ah me…guess i’m the road to aging! ha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

