Happy Birthday, Mum

 

Today, I’m a little melancholic. My thoughts are far away, in a different time and a different place. You see, today my mother, Abigail Olumuyiwa Obaweya, would have turned 73.  Six months ago, the day before Easter, she went home to be with the Lord after a debilitating illness. She was a beautiful, radiant, godly woman and people turned out in large numbers to pay their respect and testify of how they were impacted by her life and ministry. She left some big shoes to fill!

I have come to terms with the fact that the pain of missing her won’t ever go away, but it will be dulled by the passage of time and, more importantly, the hope of seeing her again. As much as I miss her, especially today, I wonder how my Dad must feel. They were together for 50 years, married for 46 of those. They were soul mates. The tender, patient, loving way Dad took care of her the last year of her life touched everyone who witnessed it in a tangible way. The way he’s thrown himself entirely upon the Lord since her departure is a joy to behold. What’s more, they shared the same name and the same birthday, though five years apart. They both went by the abbreviated version of their middle names: Olu. To differentiate between the two, their friends affectionately called them Olu aya (Olu wife) and Olu oko (Olu husband). I remember growing up thinking all parents had the same birthday and was always confused when my friends would mention each parent’s birthday separate from the other.

So today, if you’re a praying person, please say a prayer for my Dad, Ebenezer Oluyemi Obaweya.

I thought I’d get to an age where I wouldn’t really need a mother, but I was wrong. I’m reminded every now and again when I get the urge to call her and realize I can’t. So I’ve resorted to sending her hugs during my prayer time. Sometimes when I pray, I say “give my mother a hug from me, OK, Lord?” and one day, would you know it, I sensed a response: “she’s hugging you back!”

Peace…

Abigail Olumuyiwa Obaweya

Abigail Olumuyiwa Obaweya

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nike A
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 08:54:00

    Happy birthday, Mama! May her sweet gentle soul continue to rest in perfect peace. She touched so many of us in a special way and we fondly hold on to those memories. She loved me during a time when I didnt know what that meant and I will always remember her for that.
    ‘I am saying a prayer for your dad right now and hugging you all the way from ATL, my dear Shaaapay’, says Nizzgim. (sorry readers, inside pet names).

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 11:09:26

    Thanks, Nizgim. I appreciate you, as always.

    Reply

  3. Joseph
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 12:15:16

    Babes, for what it’s worth, I get to enjoy all those amazing qualities “Mummy O” had that have been passed down to you (that means that, in many ways, she lives on through you). We’re praying today for the whole family, but especially for “Daddy O.”

    Reply

  4. solathompson
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 14:05:37

    Thank you, sweetie…

    Reply

  5. Teresa
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 14:47:01

    Sorry for your sorrow Sola, the ‘special anniversary’ days seem harder to bear somehow. I’m glad to know that as Nike says, she is “resting in perfect peace”, and she is in that place of ‘no more tears and no more fears’. I am honored to pray for you and your family today-especially your father. Blessings and peace to you all.

    Reply

  6. Hope Clark
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 11:00:42

    Wow Sola. I’m crying for you right now. But not for your mom… I’m so happy she is where she is. But that doesn’t change the “missing”. I know one day I’ll have to walk through that territory and I’ll probably come to you asking how you did it. Peace to you and your father this week.

    Reply

  7. solathompson
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 12:34:51

    Thank you all. We felt your prayers!

    Reply

  8. Thea
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 23:59:14

    Sola,
    What an amazing legacy your mother has passed on in you. You are truly a blessing to all who have the opportunity of knowing you. I’m with Hope…I dread walking through that but watching you walk through it well gives me some sense of peace and hope. We’re praying for you and your father…that the Peace of God will surround you and He would sing over you. When I think of your mother, though I did not know her, I am reminded of the worship song, Hosanna, you posted recently…I imagine she must be singing it a lot these days 🙂

    Hugs,
    Thea

    Reply

Leave a Reply

