Shifting Blame

So…yesterday my hubby took me to the theater to see the movie “Fireproof.”  BTW, for those of you who haven’t seen it yet, go! Anyway, I was able to get dinner done before we left, but decided to skip eating until after we got back from the movie because I wasn’t very hungry then. Well, sometime after that, I got hungry. About halfway through the movie, I heard this loud HOWLING sound and realized with alarm that it came from my stomach. And would you know it, it happened at a point in the movie when there was silence, so there was no muffling or muting by background noise.

I cast a sideways glance at Joseph and saw him cracking up as quietly as he could – he was laughing at me! So I did what any smart, self-preserving wife would do. I turned to him and using the best chiding tone, in the loudest stage-whisper I could muster, I said: “Joseph!!!”

I call it deflection. You may call it shifting blame…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 19:52:07

    ba-ha ha ha ha….whew sorry, that was incredibly cute

    Reply

  2. angiebledsoe
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 12:09:06

    Too cute…
    That’s what men are for: to kill the bugs and take the blame for any noises coming from any body part…It’s the right thing to do!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

