I did it!

Tired but stoked - I voted!

Tired but stoked - I voted!

So…today I exercised my civic responsibility and voted! It was my first time voting, as I only became a naturalized american citizen a couple of years ago. The funny thing is that as I stood in line – for 30 minutes – I realized that I was dressed the same way as the day I got sworn in as an american citizen. Same yellow turtle-neck even. Maybe it’s symbolic. Or maybe I need a new wardrobe!

At one point, I heard a shout and applause from the voting room and when I asked, I was told they were celebrating a first-time voter. I told the lady behind me in line that I was also a first-time voter because I only recently turned 18. She said “really?” and as I started to say “yes, really”, my mouth instead articulated “nah, just kidding.” [Sigh] I really had her too. Yeah right. Maybe from the back I could pass for 18… After all, the real age test on Facebook puts me at 19 and you know Facebook is always right…

Anyway, I voted – yay!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 01:05:47

    congrats, citizen! and hey in this country, you can be any age you wanna…! ha ha…xo

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 21:39:54

    As my daughter Bimi would say, “I’m sayin’!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

