Meet Mini-Me

Temi lounging in front of the TV

Temi lounging in front of the TV

Peace!

Peace!

Let me introduce you to the youngest of my babies, my 11 year-old daughter, Temidayo Moriah Olumuyiwa Ojonugwa Thompson. You can call her Temi. I call her Mini-Me. Of my 3 children, she’s the most like me, which can be good and bad. She looks just like me and there are pictures of me as a child where you’d think it was her. I’ve talked about my other kids and was waiting for the right time to talk about Temi and the time is now.

She’s athletic (with legs that go on forever), sings beautifully and very, very smart. A straight A student, we just last week got a letter from her school asking our permission to test her for giftedness. Did I mention she’s just like her mama? 🙂 What’s more, she brews a mean cuppa tea and knows the right amount of honey in green tea and cream & sugar in black tea that Joseph and I both like.

As she stepped into the world of middle school, pre-teen drama and Disney teeny-boppers like Hannah Montana and the High School Musical gang [sigh!], I realized with despair that my baby was growing up. Gone are the cute things she used to say like “glettuce” (lettuce) and “apple-tizer” (appetizer)…

Before I know it, she’ll be in high school, then college, then some boy will think he’s good enough to marry her – aaaargh! Until then, I’ll watch a few more Disney channel programs and cuddle with her on the sofa to watch “Biggest Loser” until she decides she’s too big for all that.

Demi, Bimi and Temi…God has indeed blessed me with these.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 17:44:05

    She is beautiful Sola-like her mother! Have I mentioned lately how much i enjoy your blog-and getting to know you through it. In the internet world, yours is a safe and restful place to come for a sister mother. You talk about things I can relate to, laugh about, cry about and pray about. Thanks Sis!

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 21:06:04

    Teresa, thanks so much for your kind words. It choked me up to read them. Even if just one person is blessed by my blog, my mission is accomplished!

    Reply

  3. Hope Clark
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 13:22:40

    Temi does indeed rock!!

    Reply

  4. Joseph
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 14:42:51

    Yeah, that’s my girl!!! No, not you Sola, I’m talking about Temi!!! 😉

    Reply

  5. solathompson
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 23:12:40

    Joseph sweetie, I happen to agree with you, so I’ll let you off this time! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

