Happy Veteran’s Day to me!

Oh yeah, it’s my birthday – not really! Tomorrow is Veterans day and I have the day off! It’s one of those holidays that’s not observed by everyone; even my kids have school because they have to make up some hurricane days from August. But I, because I’m special (OK, maybe not) get the whole day off. My office will be closed in the afternoon in honor of Veterans day and since Tuesday is the one day of the week when I only work in the afternoon, I get the whole day off – booyah!

Joseph is flying out of town tomorrow for a few days, the kids will be at school and I’ll be left to my own devices. I’m all agog with what I’m going to do with my day! First I thought “I’ll get caught up on laundry”, then almost immediately, I thought – nah! Then I thought “I’ll get caught up on all the movies I’ve missed” – nah again! Finally I thought “maybe I’ll dust off my mountain bike and engage in some self-flagellation to make up for all the dietary naughtiness that I’ve been guilty of, of late. The answer to that is one I heard from my daughter Bimi just yesterday: nah-stinkin’-uh!

I do have a couple of errands to run, but as soon as they are out of the way, I think I’ll spend the day in the best way possible – hanging out with the King of my heart in quality, uninterrupted worship. Now that’s what I’m talkin’ ’bout!

Seriously, though, I’m thankful for the Vets and their sacrifice. There is, however, one Sacrifice that I’m even more thankful for…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 02:01:24

    and i expect you to cause “havoc” tomorrow! that being left up to your own interpretation… Happy Birthday, dear friend! xo- Me

    Reply

  2. Teresa
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 11:06:19

    Sola, Good for you! But, you can still get caught up on your laundry, and your bike riding if you want-just do like the monk in “Practicing His Presence” and do that laundry as unto the Lord, ride that bike as unto the Lord! The whole while thanking and praising Him for His good gifts to you! It’s hard, but know what?-it’s really fun to try!

    Reply

  3. Teresa
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 11:08:29

    OOPS!-Happy Veteran’s Day to all you Vets! Your sacrifice has NOT gone unnoticed-THANK YOU, may God bless you all richly.

    Reply

  4. solathompson
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 11:17:52

    Thanks, for the green light, Ash!
    Teresa, you’re so right. However, now that you’ve pointed that out, I have no “spiritual” excuse for shirking my domestic or exercise obligations, no thanks to you! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

