Somewhere over the rainbow…

Yesterday as I drove home from work, I was preoccupied, talking silently to God from deep within my heart. All of a sudden, I saw it: the most beautiful rainbow I had ever seen! It was a complete arc, not the partial kind that is common fare in a partly cloudy sky. The colors were so bright that I could distinguish each one. At each end of it, I could’ve sworn (if I were a swearing person, which I’m not) that there was a pot of gold because the landscape in front of it seemed to glow. I promise you I’ve NEVER seen anything like it, EVER!

I pulled over on the fairly busy County Road 44 in Eustis/Sorrento and put on my hazard lights so I wouldn’t get run over by any driver who might be just as captivated as I was. I fumbled for my digital camera and realized I’d left it on the kitchen counter. Frustrated, I got out my phone and tried to capture the image on the puny built-in camera that came with it. I took some shots, but they don’t quite show the beauty of the sight. I can’t even download what I have because – whadd’ya know – the USB software that my cameraphone comes with isn’t compatible with Windows Vista! You’ll have to take my word for it – it was INCREDIBLY BREATHTAKING!

I pulled back on the road and as I made a right turn on to County Road 46A, away from my glowing rainbow, I was disappointed that it was no longer in sight. Then I looked in my rearview mirror and saw that even though I could no longer see it up ahead in front of me, it was still there, glowing beautifully. It was a reminder to me that God’s promises are always there, even when we no longer see them up front because we made a turn on a country road…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 00:58:13

    i think judy garland sang about that rainbow this weekend…WINK

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 01:22:49

    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

