It’s a matter of perspective

So… in keeping with the Thanksgiving season, I’d like to share something that I’m thankful for. I’m thankful for the current economic recession. What?! Hear me out. I don’t for one second mean to minimize the hardship that current conditions present to so many – hey, I was in recession long before it officially hit the general populace! I, like so many others, have lost so much. In the midst of it, though, I have gained much more. My gain may not be measured in tangible terms, but for what it has done in me, it’s worth every single thing that I have lost.

I have found that sometimes when I have more than enough, it makes me complacent and de-sensitized to the troubles that besiege others. All of this despite my best intentions and my love for people. Here in America, we are a nation with so much more than we need. That’s beginning to change to varying degrees. Now, I know or know of people who cannot afford to eat out, so they are home for dinner more often; cheating husbands who can no longer afford to keep their mistresses; flashy vehicles are being traded for more practical, lower-maintenance ones; former workaholics, due to cut hours or layoffs, suddenly have time on their hands to hang out with the family or even go to church!

Sure, times are hard, but God is good. And He STILL works all things out for good for those who love Him. And He STILL provides because His provision is not dependent upon the economy. Yes, in many ways, I’m thankful for the economic recession. It is, after all, a matter of perspective!

Have a great weekend, y’all!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Russ
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 08:40:19

    I love your perspective I hope that people will REALLY get it too .

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 15:45:57

    I hope so too, Russ!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

