What’s beyond your fence?

 

At the beginning of the year, we at The Well enter into a 21-day churchwide fast, a time of waiting on the Lord, seeking His face for our lives, personally and collectively as a body. It’s an awesome time that I’ve come to look forward to, even though it’s fraught with cravings for foods I wouldn’t eat ordinarily.  During this period, my heart is more tender towards God, my prayer life is amplified and I find myself re-visiting that place at various times during the year in an attempt to make it my permanent address. If only I could get this flesh of mine out of the way for good…oh wait! yeah I can, only then I’d be dead. I’m so glad I can’t take my flesh with me to heaven.

Anyway, I digress. So the other day as I was praying, I saw a picture in my mind of a child playing in a yard while his father watched, standing in front of a picket fence. The fence was too high for the little boy to see over, but low enough for the Dad. Curious about what was beyond the fence, the kid runs up to his father with open arms. As the Dad bent down to scoop him up, the kid got distracted by something else and turned in a different direction. The Dad stood up straight, watching his little boy, waiting to get his attention. Then the scene would repeat itself again and again. Finally, the boy ran into his Dad’s arms and his Dad stood tall and showed him the wonders beyond the fence; wonders that had been there the entire time, waiting to be discovered, hidden from view only by the picket fence.

If you were that little boy, what do you suppose you’d see? What’s beyond YOUR fence?

I pray new vistas for you in 2009, filled with wonders beyond the fence!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marnie
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 01:22:19

    Wow! What is beyond the fence? What do we want to do? To see? To touch? To experience? What has God placed upon our hearts? What does he hope to touch our lives with? We simply need to have the courage to look over the fence…. even if it is our hope to have that which we think God wants us to have… but possibly our spouse does not want. What about prayer? Do any of you think our God does not listen and answer that which he hath placed upon our hearts? Remember to have faith and vision. Each of us has something……placed upon us…….by our Father. Look over the fence and reach for it…..and believe.

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 13:08:51

    Thanks for your contribution, Marnie! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

