Do what, Lord?

So…our 21 day churchwide prayer and fasting has us going through the book of John, one chapter at a time. I’m constantly amazed by the Bible, how you can read the same verse a million times and one day you see something in it that you never saw before. Unlike my daughter Bimi, who’s an avid reader and can read the same book over and over again, I never can. Once I’ve read it and I know what it’s all about, it would bore me incessantly to read it again. But not the Bible. It’s truly alive and ‘four-dimentional’!

How many times have I read the story of Jesus feeding 5000 people with five loaves of bread and 2 fish (with 12 baskets left over)? Yet today I saw something in that chapter that I’d never seen before. After the miracle, the people attested to Jesus’ anointing, proclaiming Him a prophet from God and even wanting to crown Him king. He slipped away from them and they later followed Him to Capernaum.  He knew that they were not seeking Him out because of His miracles, but because He’d fed them for free (ha – moochers!) and He told them as much (I love that about Jesus). Yet, despite this, He took the time to love, minister and speak truth to them with grace and wisdom.

I was reminded that I’ll always have people in my life who are there for various reasons. Not everyone in my life will love me genuinely (WHAT?!), yet I am called to love and be gracious to each one regardless, even while manifesting Christ-like wisdom. It’s so easy to “justify” a short or flippant attitude towards someone whom we know has less than ideal motives.

Er, excuse me while I try to find that telemarketer’s number…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nike A
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 22:00:14

    I needed to hear that as I sometimes have to try to stay saved while I calmly explain to the telemarketer that MR MIKE AREMU is not interested 🙂
    Love and hugs!

    Reply

  2. Marnie
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 00:33:24

    I agree!! My husband and I are foster parents and recently have dealt with some “stuff” such as this….I guess we always just try and do as God would want us to regardless of the outcome. This is not saying that some boundaries are in place…and that everything is easy….just that we just really never know what the end result will be…do we? Isn’t there something to be said of the seeds that we sew….and not knowing the end result? This truly is where faith comes into play. Faith that through our relationship with God he leads us along paths that we follow as his children. Trust that he as our Savior .. Yes… Wow… he gives us “stuff” to deal with to encourage the relationship between us and him. He leads…we follow…. without question. Sorry for the rambling….God just shows me over and over that every thing I experience…he is a part of. Amen

    Reply

  3. solathompson
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 00:58:22

    …And Amen to that! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

