Cutting the umbilical cord

Last weekend, we were in Tampa, at our son’s official visit to University of South Florida where he will begin his college freshman year and play football for the USF Bulls this summer. Wow!

Seems like only the other day they handed his wrinkled little body over to my husband in a little country hospital in Redhill, Surrey (UK). Wrinkled because he was over-done, born 8 days late and handed to Joseph because after 20 years of painful labor, I had no strength to hold him!

Fast forward 18 years and here we are. The first reality dose was when we arrived and stepped up to the registration table. There were papers to sign and Joseph instinctively stepped forward to sign them. Oh no, they needed Demi’s signature, not Joseph’s. What?! As the weekend progressed, I realized that we were just along for the ride – it was all about him and all the other recruits.

So, everyday I get closer and closer to the day I’ll have to kiss my baby boy goodbye as he begins his life as an independent adult in college. Why is there not some class you can take to prepare you for this? [sigh]. Seriously, though, we are so proud of Baby Boy (he hates me referring to him as that, but he doesn’t read my blog, so it’s all good). I know he’ll be a great adult because that’s what great kids become. He’ll make his share of mistakes and I’ll catch myself before I go running to try to fix them for him. He’ll miss some of my meals that he won’t eat right now because he doesn’t like one ingredient or another. He’ll be forced to keep his room clean because that is the only personal space he’ll have.  He’ll learn to know the small, still voice of the Holy Spirit better than Mom’s or Dad’s because that will be the one he’ll hear most often. He’ll find out that everything he needs to be the man that God created him to be is already in him. That’s my prayer for Baby Boy…

Have a great weekend, y’all 😉

Baby Boy and Me

Baby Boy and Me

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 17:42:22

    lovely picture. don’t worry mama, he’ll be alllll-right! wink.

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 01:27:30

    I know, Ash. I was hyperventilating about it some months ago, but now I’m excited for him. Besides, with the savings I’ll be making on groceries, it’ll feel like I got a raise! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 02:46:41

    I love the grocery comment…hilarious …and probably true! 🙂 I’m sure he’ll make up for it with phone calls from college. 🙂

    Great photo. You have so many reasons to be proud!!!

    Reply

  4. solathompson
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 02:55:45

    Thanks, Anonymous. You’re not kidding either (and there goes my “raise”)! 😉

    Reply

  5. Thea
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 02:01:40

    Oops! I didn’t mean to be “anonymous”!!!
    Thea

    Reply

Leave a Reply

