Whazzat meme?

🙂 Couldn’t resist that title. You see, I got tagged in a meme the other day and I figured that, like me, there are probably folks out there who have no idea what (or who?) a meme is. It’s simply blog-speak for “discussion topic”. Merriam-Webster describes it as:

: an idea, behavior, style, or usage that spreads from person to person within a culture
When you’re tagged in a meme, the person who tagged you wants you to join or add your input to a discussion topic. So…Thea tagged me in a meme that asks for 20 interesting facts about myself, so here goes, not necessarily in any order…
1. I got saved in Grenoble, France as an exchange student my junior year in university (yeah, France – go figure!).
2. Sometimes I talk to God in french because I know He won’t care if I mess up my tenses or use the wrong word.
3. I’m a closet Southern Gospel fan – there, I said it – WHAT!!
4. I’m getting into football now because of my boy, but despite all the instruction and “Football for Dummies” crash courses, sadly, I.STILL.DON’T.GET.IT! In the mean time, I’m faking it till I make it…
5. I enjoy crafts, particularly cross-stitching and crotchet.
6. I just bought myself a pair of reading glasses the other day and they actually help, especially with afore-mentioned crafts!
7. I used to be shy – then I married Joseph and lost touch with my shyness!
8. I enjoy my own company and love staying up late so I can be alone with my thoughts (segue to #9).
9. I’m a night owl and I “come alive at 10:05” (you gotta say it out loud to get the full poetic effect of that one)
10. I’ve lived in 4 different countries so far. Not planning on adding any more to my belt, but I’ve learned never to say never, especially when your life is not your own.
That’s enough for now. Watch this space for the rest… or not; I won’t be offended, honest.  🙂
8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 00:57:44

    perhaps you should instruct us on how to play “real” football….

    so if you’re a “closet” southern gospel fan, does that make you an “open” brittany spears fan? (he he)

    xo

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 01:13:26

    Ash, can’t do that either! Brittany….?! Girl, quit playin’!! That was actually slightly funny. 🙂

    Reply

  3. ash
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 03:18:08

    only slightly? guess i need to work on my stand up then …ha ha

    Reply

  4. Thea
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 00:39:48

    Meme! Thanks for the detail…I knew I was “memed” before but…didn’t know what it meant.

    Alive after 10:05!! Is that a mom thing?? It’s 9:30 here and everyone is asleep and I’m just about to get my second wind 🙂

    I love these – I never would have pegged you for a southern gospel fan (any favorites?) and had no idea that you were ever an introvert!!

    Love it…looking forward to part deux!

    Reply

  5. solathompson
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 00:48:51

    Thea, don’t know if the night owl thing is a mom thing, but it’s certainly a me thing!

    Re: Southern gospel, I love the Gaither Homecoming Gospel program and just about any of the folks who sing on it. Totally busted now, aren’t I? And yes, I’m a recovering introvert! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Teresa
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 17:37:10

    Hey, thanks for the explanation of meme-and btw-LOVE the new look on your blog!

    Reply

  7. solathompson
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 18:11:17

    Thanks, Teresa. I was beginning to wonder if anyone noticed!

    Reply

  8. Teresa
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 20:51:20

    You’re funny! That meme challenge?-a good one! I think I would struggle too, to come up with 20 facts about myself-at least 20 things that wouldn’t bore someone to sleep!-Have a blessed weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

