Whazzat meme? Part II

So…I’m finding that listing 20 interesting facts about myself is harder than I imagined. It feels kinda vain and self-absorbed, but here goes…

11. I never met a veggie I didn’t like – except brussel sprouts.

12. I don’t eat pork or pork products, not for any reason other than I have options and I choose to exercise them.

13. I grew up eating avocados fresh from the neighbor’s tree in Lagos, Nigeria (I exercised ownership rights over the branches that hung over the fence into our yard, and anything on them). Imagine my dismay when, a number of years ago, I developed a violent reaction to avocados. I still like them, but I guess they don’t like me. Maybe it’s American avocados I’m allergic to, but I’m afraid to test that theory.

14. The Sound of Music is my all-time favorite movie.

15. I’m simply loving life as a forty-something. I think I came into my own -whatever that means – when I turned 40 (and I hear my hubby saying “yeah, what’s up with that?!”)

16. I usually don’t cry at movies because I know the characters are just acting, but Extreme Makeover: Home Edition makes me cry.

17. Repetitive noises drive me nuts (you know, like tap-tap-tapping one’s nails on the table…or a dripping faucet…or hiccups…)

18. I still don’t know how to swim! That is, ever since I was dumped in the deep end of a friend’s pool as a teenager; and I found out during my only swimming lesson as an adult that my “natural float level” was just above my nose! What good is that if I’m drowning, huh? huh??!!

19. Anytime I’m stressed or having a bad day, I go to bed or take a nap and when I wake up, the crisis doesn’t seem like one anymore. Works for me each time, and it’s a lot cheaper than therapy!

20. I love rollercoasters!

And that’s it! Have a fabulous weekend, y’all! 😉

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Jan 24, 2009 @ 01:57:55

    Aw Sola, I can teach you to swim. Its so much fun. Make me put my few life gaurd skillz to work…hehehe

    And seriously, I’m so glad that you’re fond of bob the tomato and larry the cucumber….whew that was close, cuz they’re close friends of mine and otherwise we just might have a problem. Xo

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Jan 24, 2009 @ 22:34:17

    Just might take you up on it, Ash! 😉

    Reply

  3. Nike A
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 20:53:27

    You are not alone on this one – swimming. I won $50 gift certificate at my gym and will be putting it to good use – private swim lessons. See you in the deep end!

    Reply

  4. solathompson
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 01:19:48

    Sure – I’ll be the one with the life vest AND the ring thingy on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

