Are you truly alive?

It occurred to me a moment ago that there is a distinct difference between living and being truly alive at least the way I see it. Living is existing and performing all the functions that pertain to life. Being truly alive is squeezing the juice out of life and exploring its potentials. Think of a ruby red grapefruit, if you will. No matter how sweet it may be, there is a tanginess that comes with the sweetness, but a whole lot of benefit that results from eating it.

In this life, there’s a lot of stuff that threatens to drain the vim and verve out of me and leave me in a state of existence (living). In spite of this, I can decide that I only get one go-around and I’m going to make the most of it while I’m here (truly alive) so that my life impacts others’ in a positive way. Sure there’ll be “moments”, but life issues notwithstanding, I want to be in a constant state of “truly alive”, so help me God! 

Even if I never write a book, make a ton of money, receive a Pulitzer prize or get those washboard abs I so desire, I want people to say of me: “there goes a woman who’s truly alive.”

Woo-hooooooo!!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joey
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 07:15:42

    ABUNDANT LIFE!!

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 16:12:21

    Absolutely, Joey. Let’s ooze it! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

