Spice Girls of Jesus’ Lineage

Britain's Spice Girls

So…yesterday I was skipping merrily across the pages of the Bible on my way to the book of Jeremiah, when I heard Matthew calling out to me instead. So I flicked forward to said book and started at the very beginning. Why? Because it’s a very good place to start…ok, that was from the Sound of Music, but that’s off the subject.

I started reading Jesus’ genealogy and read through all the “begats”, starting with Abraham, through all the men who begat so-and-so, all the way down to Joseph, Jesus’ earthly father. It dawned on me, perhaps for the first time, that it was actually Joseph’s lineage, and not Mary’s that was being traced. Funny, I never stopped long enough to realize that. As I thought about it, I realized that Mary’s only biological contribution to Jesus was her physical body which housed the baby as He grew in her belly. His DNA? Completely supernatural. She was no more Jesus’ mother than Joseph was His father. I know, I know, duh! right?

Anyway, so I was intrigued by the fact that out of the 40 men and women who begat each other all the way from Abraham to Joseph, only 5 women were mentioned in the “begats” – Tamar, Rahab, Ruth, Bathsheba and of course, Mary. Why? I mused. My curiosity led me to look a little more closely at the lives of these women. Next week, I’ll share my findings with you on the ladies I have fondly named The Spice Girls (of Jesus’ Lineage).

In the mean time, y’all have a great weekend now, y’hear? 😉

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 10:13:59

    I had noticed that particular nugget before myself. I look forward to the follow-up post!

    Reply

  2. Mother Aremu
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 14:18:15

    Cant wait to read your findings.
    One of my favorite series actually takes the lives of these ‘begats’ and writes their stories as if they are living in present time. Pretty neat.
    I finished the one on Rahab and now starting Tamar. Author – Francine Rivers and the series is called ‘Lineage of Grace’. Might be worth checking out or better still sharing – hint hint – watch out, ore mi.
    Hugs and blessings!

    Reply

  3. Ingrid Walter Campbell
    Jun 13, 2009 @ 22:33:58

    Shoot me a line when with the website with the information. Thanks.

    Reply

  4. solathompson
    Jun 13, 2009 @ 22:58:08

    Ingrid, thanks for joining in! I’m not sure what you’re asking, though. What website are you referring to? If you’re wondering where I got the material for “Spice Girls of the Bible”, it’s the Bible itself. I did not use any other reference source. If that doesn’t address your inquiry, please let me know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

