Sugar ‘n’ Spice (Ruth)

Ruth

Ruth: every mother’s dream for her son. What a girl! I call her sugar-n-spice (and everything nice).

After her husband’s death, when she had every reason to heave a sigh of relief and wish her mother-in-law Naomi a good life, she stayed with the older woman. A Gentile woman, like Tamar and Rahab, her quiet devotion to Naomi earned her a good catch in Boaz, her kinsman-redeemer (see Tamar’s story) who happened to be a kind and generous man. Didn’t hurt that he was was well-off, either (I’m just sayin’…)

What I love about Ruth is that she was this sweet, gentle, fiercely loyal girl, yet I detect a hint of caliente in her. When Naomi gave her instructions for catching Boaz’ eye, she didn’t shrink back from it. What was it about her past that made her choose to stay with Naomi rather than go back home to her family after her husband died? Was it a fascination with the God of Israel whom her beloved mother-in-law worshipped? I suspect that she’d seen enough evidence of Jehovah’s living presence to want to return to the dead gods of her people. She knew which life she wanted. Those famous words of hers to Naomi: “your people will be my people and your God will be my God” still give me goosebumps when I read them. Lord, give me a daughter-in-law like that! I’d bet after Boaz and Ruth got married, they moved Naomi into the White House – I mean, their home, with them.

At the end of her story, she earned herself a good man, her very own book of the Bible and a spot in Jesus’ lineage.  You go, sweetie (pun intended).

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Thea
    Apr 29, 2009 @ 00:37:34

    So encouraging… 🙂 You ready for some Colorado!? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

