Sweet Spice (Mary)

Sweet spice

For me, Mary ranks up there with that proverbs 31 woman who sets the bar so high and makes the rest of us women look like spam (the canned variety, that is, not the electronic, although my husband loves spam, so for him it wouldn’t be a bad thing – ugh!).

So why have I included her in the lineup of spice girls? Because as meek and mild as she was, it takes a certain amount of boldness to embrace her calling as the mother of Messiah. Any mother worth her salt will agree that motherhood is not for the fainthearted, but being the mother of Messiah? No wonder some people revere her! Not that I’m advocating that she be worshiped, but that girl deserves some props!

There’s so much I’d like to chat with her about when I finally meet her. For instance, how hard was it to endure the taunts and stigma of being pregnant out of wedlock before anyone, including her fiance Joseph, believed that it was immaculate conception? What kind of love and devotion prompted her to accept the role, knowing it would be an unchartered road fraught with hardships and God knows what else? How did she navigate raising Jesus as a regular kid, knowing He was anything but? And how did she raise her other kids without showing any kind of preference or bias towards Him? I’m sure she must have had her moments, but not once does the Bible recount any incident that cast her in bad light.

Oh yeah – sweet spice, definitely!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joseph
    May 07, 2009 @ 14:27:00

    Babes, I love this series on Spice Girls that you’ve been doing. I also wanted to clear my name which you’ve maligned before the whole world. For the record I don’t eat nor do I like spam! I like luncheon meat 😉

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    May 07, 2009 @ 21:24:02

    Spam…luncheon meat…what’s the diff? Don’t worry, I don’t judge you, husband of mine! And let the record show that he buys that stuff himself!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

