Nutrition Facts (or Fiction)

CapnCrunchThis morning, I was in the kitchen while Temi, my 12 year-old, was pouring herself a bowl of cereal before heading out to catch the school bus. I glanced at the box of Cap’n Crunch that I’d been pressured to buy (Ok, it was a buy-one-get-one-free deal from Publix). I said, “I’ll bet you that cereal has zero nutritional value.” Temi looked at me with a look that translated as “duh!” and promptly replied, “Of course it does, Mom, otherwise it wouldn’t have a Nutrition Facts label!”

[sigh] Ay, ay, Cap’n…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marnie
    Sep 06, 2009 @ 02:09:26

    I truly know how you feel……yet we still buy these little ones this suger filled cereal?! Perhaps we feel better knowing they go away from the home after ingesting it??!! 🙂 I just love seeing you are just the same as “me”! The same kinda mom that buys the same kinda stuff .. kids like. I just know God still provides such a cover over your home as you both love and pray for them “together”.

    Reply

  2. solathompson
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 14:05:46

    Thanks for the support and display of solidarity, Marnie. Thank God He fills in the cracks in our attempt to raise healthy godly children, right? 😉

    Reply

  3. Joseph
    Nov 04, 2009 @ 16:32:11

    That’s my girl!!! (I mean Temi of course). 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

