Lessons in Unlikely Places

Yesterday, I stepped down the hall at work to use the little girls’ room which is shared by all the businesses on my floor (the office where I work is housed in a huge building). As I made my way past the stalls in search of the “right” one (don’t ask!), I couldn’t help noticing that, as usual, many of the toilets were not flushed. I felt the familiar indignation rise like bile in my throat. Too dramatic? ok…I was irritated. I thought of places where indoor plumbing is a luxury and using the loo is a pre-meditated event. You may have to get a bucket of water from the well in the courtyard in consideration of the next visitor to the “stall.” Instead, we are so blessed that all we have to do is lean forward enough to reach the shiny metal handle and push it down one time! Yet, even that is too much for some.

As I entertained myself with my indignation, a conversation ensued in my head:

“[sputter] what does it take to just flush after yourself out of courtesy to the next user? Some people are so inconsiderate!”

You do it!”

“Do what now?”

“You flush and be a blessing to the next woman who comes in here so she doesn’t have to look for a clean toilet because they’re all clean.”

“Not my problem! I flushed my toilet, let them flush theirs.”

“Serving others isn’t just doing something that people can see and acknowledge you for. Sometimes you get to serve anonymously and God, the only One who sees it, will acknowledge it.”

Ouch. Guess who went a-flushing?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 22:56:38

    lessons from a toilet….i love it.

    Reply

  2. Marnie
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 23:36:04

    I just love visiting your site! You are just so much like the rest of us! Smile… It is so easy to just get “grossed out”! But to look above and beyond all the yuck stuff and know…tis just another day in paradise. 🙂 You are so right how blessed we are! Every day to know we have today to make a difference in how not only we live our lives … but how we impact every single person we have the opportunity to connect with. Just flush the yuck stuff and on the way back to your desk .. know .. you make a difference .. every day .. with your smile.. your words.. your love.. and how lucky you are girl! You are God’s child….he loves You! Keep posting .. let’s keep in touch!

    Reply

  3. Marnie
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 00:01:34

    Sola ………. A belated Happy birthday too! I missed your birthday post this year!! Come on now!! Every birthday is an event! Hope yours was GREAT this year!

    Reply

  4. solathompson
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 23:40:06

    You are so sweet, Marnie. Thanks for the kind words. One belated birthday post coming up, one of these days, before my next one rolls around! Ha!

    Reply

  5. Marnie
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 22:59:45

    I know! Time does get away from us! I notice my weeks fly by at a record pace! I am learning to live as if every day is my last …. helps me to give it my all!! My 41st birthday is next week … and my husband and I have taken on a new venture these past three years (foster parenting)! So every day is a new day full of the unexpected! Thanks for your response 🙂 …. Marnie

    Reply

  6. Hope Clark
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 15:26:27

    Go Sola! I’m so proud to call you my friend. 🙂 P.S. Love the new blog look!

    Reply

  7. solathompson
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 23:10:21

    Thanks, Ash. Thanks, Hopeful – the feeling is mutual 🙂

    Reply

  8. Marnie
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 03:29:29

    Sola, I still check this blog and still think of you and your family. I hope all is well and that you are just enjoying having a family to embrace this holiday season. I miss your blogs and updates but hope you are taking time to focus on what is important.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

